HOW MY MIND WORKS

Hi folks. Todays post is on how my mind works. This is going to be one of many on this topic and I will take you through my litttle head and lead you to the other side.

This first post is an explanation on how to my way of thinking, the song THE SHOW MUST GO ON by Queen reminds me of Lisa Simpson, who is voiced by Yeardley Smith. Well, just sit tight and prepare for a ride through my head. If you know your musical notes you will grasp it more easily than if you don’t.

The song is in the key of b natural minor and it changes to a higher key of C sharp minor after the first chorus. It goes back to the original key for the next chorus until after the guitar solo. When Freddie sings the lyrics “my soul is painted like the wings of butterflies. Fairy tails of yesterday will grow but never die. I could fly my friends.” This section goes to another key altogether and uses some interesting chords that are rather sophisticated for a rock song. After that it goes back to the original key and the chord progression that is heard throughout the song.

Now, what does this have to do with Lisa Simpson? Well this kinda shows her evolution throughout The Simpsons but not in the right order. The verse and chorus being in the same key with the same chord progression kinda ties together the fact that she was thought to have no real distinct personality from Bart, at first. The key change is her becoming a vegetarian and the key change back to the original key is her becoming a practicing Buddhist later on in the series. The middle section is her true intelligence coming out on the episode “Krusty Gets Busted.”
Keep in mind that this has nothing to do with her musical tastes throughout the show but her evolution.
If you are a Simpsons fan and you either disagree with me or you agree, let me know. You can either reply or if you would like you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will respond to any messages I receive. Also, if I am going over your head, listen to the song and you will hear what I mean in my own odd way.

That’s all for today. Talk to you tomorrow

Leave a Reply

