HOW BLIND GORDIE BECAME BLIND GORDIE

Hi all. I feel I should get this out of the way today, and that is explain why my blog name is Blind Gordie’s Blog. Well, here is the story.

Back in 1986 I had become friends with Kristy Knite, who is a radio personality. She worked at Q107 at the time and I would request bands such as: Twisted Sister and other heavy metal bands that didn’t get as much radio play as I thought they should. She had taken me out to one of the big recording studios and I got to feel the two inch tape that was used at the time and is still used by most people. I even got to help with the recording of drum tracks by simply saying “rolling” after pressing the play and record buttons.

She even went with me to see Def Leppard in June of 1988 and before that she let me go on the air with my own show for an hour. I had some free rain as to what I could play but they made some suggestions and I took them.

She left in 1988 to go to 97.7 HTZFM until 1999. From there she worked at a record company until 2002, when she returned as a temp for another on air personality who was on maternity leave until July 2003. When the other lady came back Kristy stayed on and she has worked at HTZFM ever since.

Mean while, I had been listening to Q107 until 1995. I slowly migrated to HTZFM, when I went to the CNIB in Hamilton for 5 years. It got me through the bad days and the good ones too.

I started to become a regular caller into the station and eventually wu’n some prizes like CD’s, concert tickets and other stuff. I started actually picking up my prizes in 2000 and as a result everyone at all 3 radio stations in the building knows me now by name.

In 2003 there was an event held at The Pen Centre in St Catharines where listeners would pay to hear a song played on the radio. All the money went to a charity that they all support. I came down for that and at some point Kristy or my other friend named Dianne Daniels said something like “well, Blind Gordie requested Left Behind by Slipknot.” I don’t remember exactly how it went but that is kinda how it started and it became a character, which is a more out-going version of my own shy introverted personality. I would call into the station and say something like “hi this is Blind Gordie” and I would introduce a song I would request on the request show week nights at 7:00 P.M. The nice thing about all of this is that everyone knew I was blind and they treat me well.

When it came time to get my own email account and name my blog, I chose blindgordie for that reason alone as a tribute to my friends at 97.7 HTZFM. My Twitter name for one of my accounts is the same except the b in blind and g in Gordie are in caps.

That is basically the story behind my email address and the name of my blog.

I hope you enjoyed it. Talk to you later. By.

Leave a Reply

