Hockey, Iron Mike And Jesse Modz

Hello my friends. This is a two part post. One is about my favourite radio station and the other is about my favourite sport and team.
Now that the Olympics are over, we can get back to watching hockey again. Yes, I am a fan and I support The Toronto Maple Leafs, despite them not having wu’n a Stanley Cup since 1967, before I was even a twinkle in my Mother’s eye. In fact my youngest sister wasn’t even a year old yet when they did it. They have done okay so far but can they make it into the play offs this year? Will they get bounced in the first round again? Time will tell. As for our Canadian hockey team, I am obviously very proud of them for giving us the gold in both the men’s and women’s hockey. Woohoo!
The second half of this post is about a new era in rock radio in Southern Ontario. My favourite radio station is 97.7 HTZFM. The listeners and on air personalities have gone through the loss of a great guy in the afternoons on November 7th 2013. Iron Mike Bensson passed away of esophageal cancer and it was obviously an emotional day for everyone on the radio, on Facebook and on Twitter. I personally had 2 or 3 retweets and I gained a few new followers too.
There was a tribute to him on the radio on November 15th and it was a lot of fun to hear voices I hadn’t heard for a while or ever. Mike is surely missed.
Fast forward to the present! His replacement is Jesse Modz, who has been on the radio for a few years and his last gig was at FM96 in Kingston Ontario. I have a connection to the radio station in London with the same brand but a different call sign. When I went to W. Ross McDonald School I would listen to it when I couldn’t get any of the stations in Toronto that I liked.
He seems like a good guy and he’s from the GTA and that’s cool with me. Welcome to The White House Of Rock Jesse. Your in great hands and the listeners will love you for sure. I like that he is a fan of Family Guy, even though I am an unabashed Simpsons fan. Anyway, that’s another post for another day.

Leave a Reply

