Whether Wednesday-Springtime

Hello and welcome to another whether Wednesday. This week I’m going to talk about the coming of spring and I will mention an odd fact which has occurred three times.
Question for you. Has there been a refreeze after a massive spring thaw? The answer is yes. It has happened 3 times in my memory in Southern Ontario in:1995, 2000 and 2003. The bizarre thing about this result is that the New Jersey Devils won the Stanley Cup all three times this is happened. It sounds outlandish and very bizarre but it happened and I can’t explain it. In 1995 and 2003 the refreeze took place in early April, while the 2000 event happened just before spring actually started. There was a rare February massive thaw and temperatures soared as high as 20 degrees Celsius and it was a leap year, which made it even more odd.
I know of one time in 1992, when a massive warm up happened in the prairie provinces around the same time. This was similar to what we experienced here in Southern Ontario in March 2012. However, there was a bit of a refreeze from what I remember from reports I’ve heard on the weather Network.
As for this year, I have heard that spring will be slow in coming. It’s not a big surprise, considering the brutal winter we had this year, both with the amount of snow and with the temperatures as low as they have been. I hope that summer will be just as hot as winter was as cold but I can only hope for this.

Leave a Reply

