Simpsons Sunday – The Guest stars

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week I am going to talk about the guest stars who have appeared on the show and I have my own idea’s for who I would like to lend their voices to the show.
My favourite guests on the show are people who I am huge fans of and I have followed for a long time. Here are my favourites in no particular oarder: Paul and Linda McCartney, George Harrison, Rodney Dangerfield, Metallica, Albert Brooks, Kid Rock, Rob Halford, Sir Patrick Stewart and George Carlin. The last of these has inspired me to write and everybody I have listed here are people I have been a fan of for most of my life, ever since they came on the seen.
In the case of Metallica, there is a connection here to the band and principal Simpsons voice actor Harry Shearer. He has played on the same stage with Metallica twice in his career, both times with Spinal Tap as Derek Smalls. They first met at the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert on April 20 1992 and some time after one of their sets both bands met and the guys in Spinal Tap gave the guys in Metallica the gear’s about making an all black album. This hilarious exchange can be seen on the Metallica home-video a Year And A Half In The Life Of Metallica. 
In the movie This Is Spinal Tap, the band released an album called Smell The Glove, which had an all black album cover. Metallica released their self-titled all black album in 1991 and it has obviously done quite well and is a classic.
The second time was at the Live Earth concert in London on July 7th 2007. In this case Spinal Tap were premiering a new song called Warmer Than Hel. This of course, was during the time when climate change was being talked about on the news and is still discussed from time to time to this day.
In the case of George Carlin, he had worked with Simpsons cocreator Sam Simon on The George Carlin Show in 1994. It lasted 27 episodes but I only saw a few of them. This was also the time when George’s voice timber changed and became stronger. You could also say mature but I won’t because I don’t think that word is appropriate to describe this point in his life. If you would like to read about The George Carlin Show and his entire life, check out the book Last Words, which is in both text and audiobook form. Just for the record, the audiobook is read by George’s brother Patrick Carlin. It also features an interview with his daughter Kelly and his co-writer Toney Hendra, who also starred in This Is Spinal Tap with Harry Shearer.
As for people I would like to be future guest stars on The Simpsons, I have some idea’s of my own, who I think should give it a shot. They are: the members of Slipknot, the members of Stone Sour or just Corey Taylor, Larry The Cable Guy, Lewis Black, Dave Grohl and if they haven’t already, Jerry Seinfeld and Jeff Dunham. I think all the people I mentioned could provide something different to each new story provided by the writers. This would also provide an element of surprise for the viewer, particularly with people such as Jeff Dunham who is a ventriloquist and Slipknot, who normally appear masked but can either voice themselv’s either masked or unmasked. The possibilities are endless and there can be potentially many more stories that can be hatched.
I have read that the first person to turn down a guest starring role on The Simpsons is William Shatner. He could have been an additional secondary character or just guest starring as himself. He would have been great for his range but he decided not to go for The Simpsons, for whatever reason.
Okay, okay. Maybe some of the names I mentioned may be more suitable for Family Guy but I feel that they would be great on The Simpsons too, just to give the show an extra zest. I am sure that the writers have their own idea’s as to whom they would like to guest star on the show. Hay, there is a fourth grade teachers spot available. Anybody? I’m just asking.
Also, happy birthday to classic Simpsons writer George Meyer who turned 58 on Thursday. He has had a hand inwriting such classic episodes as: Mr. Lisa Goes To Washington and Bart VS Thanksgiving, among others. He left the show in 2006 but co-wrote The Simpsons Movie in 2007. He has also worked with David Letterman and on Saturday Night Live, before being hired by Sam Simon in 1989 to write for The Simpsons. Also, happy birthday to Simpsons music writer Alf Clausen, who turned 73 on Friday. I have nothing but respect for what both of these people have done on the show to give us all joy every week for the past 25 years.
Well, that’s all for this weeks post. Enjoy this evenings episode called You Don’t Have To Live Like A Referee. Also, check out Chris Ledesma’s blog. He is a music editor on the show and he can provide some really cool insider information as to how music for episodes and the couch gags were conceived. Here is the url.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I think it is very cool that someone on the inside like he is, gives us the fans of the show, a peak into how the music is put together. If you know me at all, music is my life and I also have perfect pitch. This of course allows me to be able to sing along with a song in tune with the music, provided I can hear myself. Anyway, that’s all for this week.

Leave a Reply

