Simpson’s Sunday – Questions And Stuff

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week, I am going to put out my own questions for everyone involved with The Simpsons. As fans we know about all the basic information about the show, thanks in part to the internet and Nancy Cartwright’s book My Life As A 10-Year-Old Boy. I have my own questions about the inner workings of how the show is put together. This goes even further than the book and even personal blogs by anyone involved with the show.
Before I get to the questions, just keep in mind that I am blind and I can only hear what is going on. In case you ask, I am very good with remembering voices and names.
1. Does anyone who edits or writes the music for The Simpsons have perfect pitch? For example: Alf Clausen or Chris Ladesma? Further to that, does any of the actors also have it? Believe it or not, there are some musicians and song writers, who can not sing a note. If you would like an example, I can only site one that I know of. It is Tom Scholz of Boston and he admitted it on a radio show in 1994.
2. Are all the screams by various characters saved for the end of a session? This came up after listening to an interview with Dan Castellaneta on how he records Homer’s voice. Homer does a lot of screaming at times and even when he says “d’oh” the vocality is guttural or raspy.
3. When do you say “stop”, when it comes to having enough takes for a line or lines for a seen?
4. What is the most challenging episode ever that everyone had to work on?
5. Generally, how many revisions of a script are written, until the final one we hear and see on TV?
6. Do you over record dialog for an episode, in case you want to insert some of it into the end credits? An example of this is The Dad Who Knew Too Little, when Homer tried to read Bart’s diary as a bed time story and he was electrically shocked because he was unauthorized to touch it.
7. Does anyone on the show besides the writers, pitch any idea’s as to whom they would like to have on as a guest star? I have my own and if you take a look at previous posts, you will get a very good idea as to whom I would love to appear on a future episode.
8. With actors who do multiple voices which range from clean vocals to a gruff or growly voice, which is done first? Do you do a clean voiced character first or do you get a growly sounding character out of the way? For example: Dan Castellaneta voices: Homer, Barney, Grandpa Simpson, Joe Quimbie, Groundskeeper Willy and Krusty The Clown, among others.
9. Has the idea been pitched to allow people who are fans of the show, other than celebrities to guest star on the show and play a small roll, other than a cammio? I think it would be very cool for a fan to get a chance to guest star and play a roll in the plot of an episode. It would surely make them famous to their friends and colleagues. It would also give them something to tell the grandkids when they’re older. This week on Twitter, there was a tweet with a link to an article, about a Burlington Ontario woman who submitted a couch gag into a contest and it will appear in the episode Days Of Future Future, airing April 13th. Her name is Katie Hemming and she is a film student.
10. Will the cast of The Simpsons ever come to Canada as an ensemble? I would love to meet all the people who have given myself and millions of listeners and viewers joy over the last 25 years. I would especially like to meet those who I follow on Twitter, so they can put a face and a voice to the Twitter handle.
Those are some of my most burning questions for those who are involved with The Simpsons. I don’t know if I will ever have them answered but I just wanted to throw them out there, on the off chance that someone will read this and find my email somewhere. I know it’s a long shot but stranger things have happened in my life. My email address is blindgordie@gmail.com and if you like what you read you can comment either here or send me an email. Either way, I will reply and I am usually prompt unless I am sleeping or busy.
Enjoy tonights Simpsons episode entitled Luca$. Also, don’t forget to check out Chris Ladesma’s blog at http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
She of course, voices Lisa Simpson and both of these Blogs are interesting to me, both because they are associated with The Simpsons but you get a peak into their life outside the show as well.
One more thing I should mention. If you are on Twitter, Hank Azaria will be tweeting during tonights Simpsons episode. I don’t know if he will be tweeting from 8 to 11:30 P.M. ET but I guess we will have to find out. Will we?

Leave a Reply

