Simpsons Sunday – Metallica

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week I’m going to talk about Metallica. They were guest stars on the Season 18 episode The Mook, The Chef, The Wife And Her Homer. In fact it was the current line up of the band: James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett, Lars Ulrich and Robert Trujillo who appeared in the episode.
A few weeks ago I mentioned the connection with Harry Shearer through the band meeting Spinal Tap during the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert and the Live Earth concert in London England. That is so cool that they both played on the same bill for two shows.
I remember hearing Metallica back in 1984 when they released their second album Ride The Lightning and at the time they were thought of as a thrash metal band. The difference between them and 90 percent of their contemporaries is that they were played on radio in regular rotation, by the time they released their self-titled album, later known as The Black Album in 1991. What stood out for me was that they had more melody than most of their contemporaries and they weren’t afraid to stretch out their range to all sorts of styles. Did you ever think that you would hear a song like either: Nothing Else Matters, Mama Said or Low Man’s Lyric? All 3 songs I mentioned are very unlike the majority of their music but Nothing Else Matters is the big song of those 3.
Another thing I like is their propensity for taking risks. They worked with, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Lou Reed and Lang Lang on either a project or just to play with them. They have consciously try to make every record sound different to avoid being same and to push the boundaries of their genre. They even collaborated with Marianne Faithfull on a track, which to some people, was a stupid idea. However, it worked for the song, which is called The Memory Remains and it was the first single off their 1997 album Reload..
What is also great about the band is that they have managed to be around for as long as they have and still have a solid fan base of loyal followers, which includes myself. They have also toured with and influenced a lot of great bands over the years such as: Korn, Slipknot, Limp Bizkit, anthrax, Disturbed, Lamb Of God, Volbeat, Days Of The New, God Smack and many others over their 33 year career. Of course, let’s not forget that they appeared on The Simpsons too, which was also a risk because not many metal bands actually guest starred on the show and got away with it. Thankfully they managed to get on the show without controversy because they are not only great musicians but they are also funny guys and they don’t mind poking fun at themselves once in a while.
The one song I have always wanted to ask them about is Where The Wild Things Are, from Reload. There are some great harmonies and their is a section just after the guitar solo, where there is a two part harmony and some snarled vocals in the background. If you have a copy and you listen to the song you will hear what I mean. The song reminds me a lot of Alice In Chains, with all the harmonies and that they are heard throughout the bulk of the song.
I am going on about Metallica because they are one of my favourite bands and at one point I would only listen to their music and not much else. I managed to see them in Hamilton Ontario on February 24th 1997 and they played a great show. That was probably my only time where I screamed so much I lost my voice for a day or so. It came back to full strength in 3 days. I will go on about people who have guest starred on The Simpsons from time to time because I like them. Wait till I do my George Carlin blog.
Well, tonight’s the night when The Simpsons Lego episode Brick Like Me airs. There have been a lot of videos and stuff on the internet about it and it should be very interesting.
Also, don’t forget to check out Chris Ladesma’s blog at http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
She of course, voices Lisa Simpson and both of these Blogs are interesting to me, both because they are associated with The Simpsons but you get a peak into their life outside the show as well.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive.
One more thing to note is that Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean is now on Twitter. His Twitter handle is @AlJean and at this time he has about 900 followers.
I don’t know exactly how many but he has tweeted some really cool tweets last week.
Anyway, enjoy tonights episode. There are two more after this one.

One thought on “Simpsons Sunday – Metallica

  1. Pingback: Patty And Selma | blindgordie's Blog

Leave a Reply

