Weather Radio Programming Events

Welcome to another Wednesday. This weeks weather post is about Weather Radio programming events. What are they exactly? How long have they been happening? Are they usually in the spring, the same time that both CANWARN and SKYWARN training sessions are taking place?
I have just heard about them through Twitter and Facebook and I have made some deductions as to what they are and how they work.
My theory is that they are events held at various places where Weather Radios are sold. Usually the receivers in question are SAME or Specific Area Messaging Encoding radios. I have discussed it in detail in an earlier issue.
A whole croud of people all buy them and someone representing the store or the manufacturer either programs it or shows people how to do it. Then there may be food and drink available during the event.
I don’t know if what I just said is true but it sounds logical to me that it happens like that. If anyone knows just email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and let me know if what I said is correct or not.
Unfortunately there isn’t an event like this in Canada, that I know of and I would think it would be silly of me to travel out of the country to go to one of these events.
Anyway, that is my blog post for today.

Leave a Reply

