Simpsons Sunday – The Simpsons For My Birthday Last Year

Hello to all who are reading my blog, either for the first time or as a an old vet. This is the 101st post and I am very happy that this occurred now.
This week I’m going to talk about my blog and why it looks like it does. I will also be discussing my 40th birthday last June 2nd and my 41st birthday tomorrow. It may sound silly or pretentious but there is a significant connection to The Simpsons here. I will explain in the next few paragraphs.
If you are new to my blog and you notice there are no photo’s, I don’t have any. Everything you see here is done on my iPhone and I don’t know how to use the camera or insert photos into a post.
Also, if you notice the name of my blog, (BlindGordies Blog) it gives you a very obvious hint of my disability. I am totally blind and have been since birth. I was born at a rather modest birth weight of 2 pounds and 6 ounces. I was 3 months premature and was put into an incubator. When I came out I was totally blind. You could say I am a miracle baby and well, maybe that’s true. As a result I have been rather skinny all my life and I’m also short at 5 foot 3.5 in. This may explain why I get carded when I go into places where drinking is involved.
How did i become a Simpsons Nut? Well, I have this habit of going on the internet and in particular, Wikipedia and Youtube. Also, every few years I would become obsessed with something. Weather it is: a band, a singer or in this case, a television show and I became obsessed with The Simpsons through both of these avenues.
On October 24th 2012, I was looking to hear interviews with some of the old guard of the cartoon voices such as: Mell Blanc, don Messick, Daws Butler and others. I stumbled on an episode of Inside The Actors Studio, which had The Simpsons cast as the guests and I took a listen to most of it.
I have said this in an earlier post but I was shocked and surprised to hear what Dan Castellaneta sounded like in his own speaking voice. Of course, he is the voice of: Homer, Krusty The Clown, Barney, Mayor Joseph Quimby, Groundskeeper Willie and others. When he went into Homer’s voice and his other voices during the segment James Lipton spoke to the Simpsons characters I was amazed.
Another revelation for me was actually hearing: Julie Kavner, Yeardley Smith and Hank Azaria in their own speaking voices for the first time as well. I had heard Harry Shearer and Nancy Cartwright before, as they had done interviews on both radio and TV. One other thing I should mention was actually hearing both the name and the voice of Al Jean for the first time too. Al sounds like he is one of the nicest people you’d ever meet. I certainly hope that my observation is correct.
The other part to this transition from casual fan too plain Simpsons nut is Wikipedia. As I said earlier, I like to go on Wikipedia a lot. As 2013 rolled around and my 40th birthday drew nearer, something happened that would make a change in my life.
I began noticing that most of my favourite bands all had some connection with The Simpsons, whether they were guest stars or had their music played on the show. Before Wikipedia came along I was, as I said, a casual fan and loved hearing the voices and the catchphrases on the radio and other media outlets. I also began to research all the characters and their respective voice actor. My favourite characters have been mentioned in past posts and on early tweets. As for the voice cast, I was and still am impressed with each one of the main cast and how much other work they have done and still do, despite the continuation of the show.
Also around this time, I had some issues with my apartment, which involved pests and The Simpsons kept my spirits high, during this rather weird time in my life. This included YouTube and Wikipedia. More on YouTube in a minute.
With Wikipedia and other Simpsons Wiki sights I was looking at all the episodes and their plots. I realized that I had missed a lot of them since the 90s because I didn’t have a TV and I only heard certain episodes on CBC at 5:00 P.M. Monday to Fridays, when I could hear some TV channels on the radio, below 87.5 MHz. Remember when you could listen to TV on the radio? I miss that!
On the weekend of my 40th birthday, I started going on Youtube and looking for specific episodes to watch and I found a great deal of them that I would watch over the next few weeks. I can’t name them all but there were a lot. However I didn’t watch every episode from Season 1 to Season 24 because I couldn’t find them all. Plus, I don’t have wifi in my apartment.
I have managed to download onto my phone almost all the episodes currently available from iTunes wich I like. I mentioned in last weeks post that I had watched the episode Homers Enemy for the first time. It didn’t really sink in how much I would grow to like it.
Since then I have collected all the music from The Simpsons that was released on either CD or digitally. I have also been on iTunes and downloaded some Simpsons ringtones for my iPhone, including Homer saying “d’oh” and “woohoo, among others. As I said earlier, I have downloaded as many episodes which I liked that I could find. Unfortunately, not all seasons of The Simpsons are available on iTunes, yet. Hopefully that will change sooner rather than later. Also, I downloaded both of Dan Castellaneta’s albums and Nancy Cartwright’s book My Life As A 10-Year-Old Boy in audiobook form.
Joining Twitter was another step toward getting closer to The Simpsons and both fictional and nonfictional characters involved with it. I follow The Simpsons and they follow me too. “Woohoo!”
I also follow most of the voice actors and staff involved with the show. Another thing I like to do is make a point of tweeting my birthday wishes to everyone whom I follow on The Simpsons and I make sure to mention them here too. I just feel that wishing people a happy birthday is a nice thing to do.
As for my 40th birthday last year on Sunday June 2nd, not much happened. The only thing was a quick day trip up north from Toronto to Barrie, just because I could. So, there was no big 40th birthday celebration on tap for me last year. I just became more immersed in The Simpsons, like I did with my favourite bands before them. They include: Twisted Sister, Def Leppard, The Beattles, Queen, Nine Inch Nails, Metallica, Korn, Slipknot, Pantera, Sepultura and Tool. With each one I would try to collect as much material from them as I could and with The Simpsons they weren’t an exception.
I had a hard time finding some of the albums with songs from the show, because they had been discontinued and I felt discouraged to the point of being near tears. However I managed to get my hands on all the albums in one form or another and I am now a happy guy. I have mentioned my favourite to least favourite CD in a past post, a few months ago.
Well, my birthday is coming up tomorrow. I will be 41 but I still look and act younger than my age. What do I want for my birthday? Well, a Simpsons jacket or a T-shirt would be nice. I am having a hard time finding something to ware with The Simpsons characters on it. If I get an RT or a follow on my birthday that would be sweet too.
I have been thinking about why The Simpsons became as much a part of my life as they have at this time of uncertainty. Maybe, just maybe they are helping me get through my midlife crisis. I don’t know but that could be true. If so: Matt Groening, James L. Brooks, Sam Simon, Al Jean, Dan Castellaneta, Julie Kavner, Nancy Cartwright, Yeardley Smith, Hank Azaria, Harry Shearer and everyone else involved with the show over its continuing run deserves many, many many, thanks from me. The show gives me some comfort when life is hard and when I am almost crying. The characters on the show may be a bit much for us to handle in real life but I don’t mind them all. Even though Mr. Burns has done some things which rub me the wrong way sometimes throughout the series. Such as when he tries to convince Bart that Homer and Marge don’t want him anymore. That is the only time the show made me angry. Otherwise I love it and will love it for the rest of my life.
Speaking of birthdays, Danny Elfman, who composed the Simpsons theme song cellebrated a birthday on Thursday. He turned 61 and has done other composing for film and television. He was also in the new wave band Oingo Boingo. Remember them? I should be perfectly honest and say that I never really listened to them because I grew up mainly a rock and metal fan and still am to this day.
As usual to end each Sunday post, check out both Chris Ledesma and Yeardley Smith’s blogs respectively. http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com/
Also, you can follow Al Jean on Twitter. In case you are new to both my blog and The Simpsons, he is the current Show Runner. His Twitter Handle is @AlJean.
If you have comments you can make them here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will respond to each one I receive. You can also contact me on Skype if you like and my Skype name is blindgordie like my gmail address. I hope to hear from anyone who is either following me now or is reading this post.
One more thing, if you do decide to follow this blog there are posts on The Simpsons, Weather and anything else that I think of writing at the moment. You never know when I may post something new.
On the subject of weather, I also have my own newsletter, which is mainly about Weather Radio, both in Canada and the US. I also talk about weather affecting our dayly lives and in pop culture. To get an idea of what I am up to, just click on this link and you will find some of the issues in tact. http://www.qrz.com/db/va3wxa You may have to copy and paste the links to my email, the blogs or my webpage on QRZ.
Anyway, take care and I hope you have enjoyed reading this post.

Leave a Reply

