Simpsons Sunday – The Year In My Life From June 2013 To Present

Hello my friends.Today’s post picks up where last Sundays post left off. Basically, it is a recap of the year in my life since I was a casual fan and now a Simpsons nut. As you will see, later in this post I would try to work the show into anything I did.
Let’s start from June 2nd 2013. Well, I started watching a whole bunch of episodes on Youtube, as I mentioned last week. I began reading up on all the characters and the voice cast. I even began reading Yeardley Smith’s blog, at the end of the summer. Oh… wait… I’m getting ahead of myself.
I had a copy of The Simpsons Moovy, which I listened to the whole way through, for the first time in early July. I had it for a couple of years, thanks to a friend who is also a Simpsons fan and is also blind. It got me through all the crap I was going through with pests in my apartment and having to deal with all the other issues surrounding it. There were times when I was just miserable and almost in tears.
At some point in July, I began writing my own Simpsons episode scripts. I have 2 stories which I have almost completed but would like some help with making them funny. One is where Homer goes blind, thanks to an accident at the nuclear plant. The other is about Krusty retiring again and sinking low enough to go to Canada to become a pan Hendler. He makes a contest winner his permanent replacement and Bart goes to find Krusty and try to bring him back, with the help of his replacement.
Also during July, I had discovered ways to get even more information on the show, through fan websites and I even found the scripts on the internet too. I read the episodes I knew and I wanted to check the spelling of some words and how the growns, mowns and screams were written. Sometimes it was just written as :grown” or “scream” when Homer would make one of those sounds.
In August I began to get more into the inner workings of the show than ever. I looked for interviews with: Matt Groening and with each of the cast members about their characters. One thing I should mention here is that almost all of the main voice cast sound much younger than their actual age. For example: Nancy Cartwright is 56 but she sounds like she is about 20 years old. Yeardley Smith also sounds like she is around the same age, even though she is approaching 50. The only one who doesn’t actually sound younger is Julie Kavner. She actually sounds like she is about my age, minus the honey gravel in her voice. Even Dan Castellaneta, Hank Azaria and Harry Shearer sound younger, even though they are all now over 40, like I am too.
The only cast member whose voice timbre changed ever so slightly was Marcia Wallace, who voiced Mrs. Krabappel. I listened to the earlier episodes then compared her voice to some of the more recent episodes. I did notice a slight change in the sound of her voice and well, I guess that comes with age. I notice it a lot with my favourite singers and it is interesting to hear the evolution of a voice, from young adult until they are older.
I also began to collect as much Simpsons music as I could find on CD. It was hard to get all of what I wanted because some of it was discontinued or unavailable on iTunes. I had some nights when I was crying because I didn’t think there was any hope of finding: Songs In The Key Of Springfield and Go Simpsonic With The Simpsons on CD. However, it happened on September 19th when the week before, I had ordered it from a record store I would sometimes frequent in downtown Toronto and when I had them in my hands I was understandabley happier than Homer with Duff Beer.
Around the end of summer I joined Twitter and began following The Simpsons and anyone else associated with the show, whom I could find and whose names I recognized. For the record, Yeardley Smith was the first person I followed. On the night of the latest installment of the annual Treehouse Of Horror series, The Simpsons followed me on Twitter. I was of course, ecstatic. I now could get the latest news from the show and some Youtube videos along the way, which did happen.
As I mentioned earlier I started reading Yeardley Smith’s blog and she inspired me to start this one. There have been other such blogs that I could have read that I had more access to, but something made me start reading it at the end of August. I’m not going to get into detail but it did give me more of a peak into her life as a celebrity and who she is as a person. She seems like a very nice lady and clearly is happy with her life now. Some of my early posts in this blog came from her as my own take on them.
As I became more familiar with Twitter, I began to follow more Simpsons fan accounts. This includes: Simpsons Wiki, Simpsons Tweets, SpringfieldX2 and most of the characters. Twitter is how I found out about Marcia Wallace’s death. I was upset by it, despite that I had never met her and had only learned about her a few months before. People had commented that she was very kind and I believe that to be true. She may have played Mrs. Krabappel but she did show a side to the character that isn’t that well known toward Bart. At the end of Bart Gets An F, he cries after she fails him and tells her that he really tried. She comforts him and I heard that kind tone in Marcia’s voice, when she says “there there” as Bart is crying. People were saying how sweet Marcia was and I could agree with that, based on that moment alone.
If you have been reading my blog from my first post, I have made a point of putting my own slant on various Simpsons related topics and I will continue to do this every Sunday. I have my own list of my favourite episodes and my favourite characters, minus the immediate Simpsons family. On that note, when people have asked me who my favourite character is I always say it is the Simpsons family. I like all of them for different parts of my personality. I can be a real goof and an impatient jerk like Homer, very patient like Marge, whiny and honest to a falt like Lisa, I was a bit of a hand full like Bart as a kid and I’m quiet like Maggie. I also have some other personality traits of other characters on the show as well.
This year, I took the plunge and went on iTunes. I have downloaded a bunch of Simpsons episodes that I liked that I could find. I also downloaded both of Dan Castellaneta’s solo albums and I like them both. His rock album Two Lips sounds a lot like the Beatles, or rather The Rutles. I like his Ringo Star vocal on the song Feat On The Ground. Everything else isn’t bad either but I couldn’t tell who he was trying to imitate of the other 3 Beatles. It sounds to me like he is more into the: Revolver, Sgt Pepper and Magical Mystery Tour period of the bands active life.
With his other album I Am Not Homer, both him and his wife Deb Lacusta made me laugh, especially with the bits as radio personalities. Check out the tracks: AM Therapy and Drive Time and you will be laughing your ass off after a few listens too.
I also downloaded Nancy Cartwright’s audiobook version of her book My Life As A 10-Year-Old Boy. It gave me a new found respect for what she does and has done in her life. She has brought The Simpsons even closer to all of us who have read this book and has given us a real honest look at how things have changed through the years in how you record both music and diolog. Her descriptions of her fellow cast members sounded exactly like I had pictured each of them. If you want to check it out both the book and the audiobook are available on iTunes.
A few weeks ago, I posted about The Simpsons and Ham Radio because I am also a licensed Ham with the call VA3WXA. Principal Skinner used the call sign WA3QIZ and it is an actual call which exists. If you want to look it up on Google, go ahead. I have been trying to find a connection to the show and Ham Radio and that was one of my few times when they both intersect. In that post I also provided a link to an article on this topic.
Finally, another thing I have going for me is my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter. The Simpsons have never mentioned NOAA Weather Radio but I managed to talk about them in some more recent issues. I am highlighting the episodes which have weather as a main plot device in the last issue and the next 2. A couple issues before the last one, I made a point of talking about the show and how weather has been inserted into some episodes. This became what I mentioned above.
If you would like to take a look at some of what I have done just click on the link below.
http://www.qrz.com/db/va3wxa
Not all issues are available here so you will need to join the mailing list by emailing me directly. Check out the next few paragraphs for my email address.
I am doing this because it is the 25th anniversary of the seriesand there is a part of my audience which I feel should be aware of the show and how it isn’t just about a dysfunctional family but it also talks about relevant issues which affect all of us every day.
On the birthday front, happy birthday to original Show Runner for The Simpsons, Sam Simon. He celebrated his 59th birthday on Friday. He has also worked on: Taxi, Cheers, The Tracey Ulman Show, The George Carlin Show and others. I wish him well in his fight against his terminal illness.
As usual, don’t forget to check out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
This is the blog I commented on earlier in this post and it is very well done.
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her shoe designer company. Right now, they design women’s shoes. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
I provided it here because everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
Thanks Al for the nice reaction to last weeks post. It was a very kind gesture from someone who runs a show, which makes millions of people laugh every week around the world. For my part, everything I right is from my heart too.

Leave a Reply

