Simpsons Sunday – Itchy And Scratchy

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. Before I get into the meat of this weeks post I would like to wish all the Fathers who may be reading it a happy Fathers Day. I am currently not one but I hope to have kids some day.
This week I’m going to talk about the show within a show. Yes, I’m going to try and talk about Itchy and Scratchy. It will be a rather daunting task because they hardly speak and all I hear is music and sound affects, but here goes anyway.
As those of us who watch The Simpsons are aware, Bart and Lisa’s favourite show is the Itchy And Scratchy Show, with it’s theme song which is rarely played in its entirety and we usually hear it from when the words to it are sung. After that there is music and noises from either Itchy or Scratchy. Then something happens to Scratchy which is usually fatal. Or is it Itchy, who suffers death at the hands of Scratchy? Well, all I can say is that they both try to kill each other and that’s as far as I can tell.
From what I have read, what ever happens in these episodes usually reflects what is going on in the current Simpsons episode. For example in Like Father Like Clown, Itchy and Scratchy are playing with their sons and this brings Krusty to tears and gives Lisa and Bart the insentive to find Krusty’s Father.
Another thing which is a challenge is to match the Itchy and Scratchy episodes with its parent Simpsons episode, according to Simpsons Wiki. I can’t see the titles on the screen and can only rely on the audio.I guess if I really wanted to match episodes I could look at the appearances and that might help.
One thing I can say I understand are the words to the theme song. Oh, on that note: the ending theme has more than one version. There is the version which has the piano and the female chorus singing it and there is a faster version with more cartoony type voices singing it. This version appears in the Season 3 episode When Flanders Failed. This is after Bart watches his second Itchy And Scratchy episode during this Simpsons episode. Unfortunately we don’t get to see or hear what it is because there are other events going on surrounding other characters. I’m sure there are other examples but I can’t think of any right now.
Of course they are also used to discuss topics such as: censorship and jumping the shark. The former being: Itchy Scratchy And Marge and the latter being The Itchy Scratchy & Poochie Show. For a show within a show it has been of great benefit to The Simpsons over the years and I love it. For a list of the Itchy and Scratchy episodes just look on Simpsons Wiki under the list of episodes and the titles are enough to make you laugh your ass off. I read some of them yesterday and I nearly busted a gut laughing so hard.
On the birthday front, happy birthday to Simpsons writer Greg Daniels who turned 51 on Friday the 13th. He was a part of the writing staff for Seasons 5 and 6. He wrote three of my favourite episodes: Homer And Apu, Secrets Of A Successful Marriage and the Season 7 episode Bart Cells His Soul. He went on to work with Mike Judge on King Of The Hill and later, on The Office and Parks And Recreation.
Happy 83rd birthday to Jackie Mason, who celebrated on June 9. Of course, he won an Emmy award for voicing Krusty The Clown’s Father Himan Krustovsky,on the episode Like Father Like Clown in 1992. This was also of course, after he accidentally gave at Sullivan the finger, when he appeared on the ed Sullivan Show in the 60s. In 2004 he also voiced the East River Creature on the BBC Radio 4 adaptation of The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy.
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and it is still going strong. I’m looking forward to Season 26 and especially the premier, when a character will die. I’m not going to speculate on who it is and I will leave my own idea’s of who it could be out of this blog, until the episode airs.

Leave a Reply

