Simpsons Sunday – Graduation And Last Day Of School

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week it is about graduating from high school and the last day of school. The two episodes which stand out for me that discuss these subjects well are: The Way We Was and Camp Krusty.
In The Way We Was, we see how Homer and Marge met and eventually became the husband-and-wife they are today. This is of course, despite Marge taking Artie Ziff to the prom, initially as her date. However it all changes when Artie gets too busy with his hands and Marge slaps him and demands that he take her home. She finds a dejected Homer in the mud and offers him a ride. Of course, he excepts and the rest is history.
In the case of Camp Krusty, the episode opens while Bart is dreaming of the last day of school. Principal Skinner instructs all the personal records to be destroyed. In reality, Bart gets a d after Homer tells him that if he didn’t pass he wouldn’t get to go to Camp Krusty. However, he decides to let him go because he didn’t want Bart hanging around the house all summer anyway. Then we see Bart, Lisa and the other kids going to Camp Krusty and well, you know what happens next. Right?
In my own case, I graduated 20 years ago and I had no date or anything like Homer did. I don’t even know if we even had a prom. I was probably the saddest I had ever been in my life to that point because I wanted to leave with my own girl friend but that wasn’t meant to be.
At our graduation ceremonies in 1994, I had to bring on a novelist who wrote a book about W Ross Macdonald school, many years ago. For those who are reading my blog for the furst time, this is a school for the blind in Brantford Ontario Canada, which is where actor Phil Hartman was born. Also, hockey great Wayne Gretzky is from there too. It is also where Alexander Graham Bell was said to have invented the telephone. At least, that is what we have been tought in Canada.
When I was younger, I loved the last week of school because we didn’t do a whole lot anyway and we got to go home on Wednesdays for the most part. I would be dreaming of what day camp I would be going to that summer and all the cool field trips we would be going on. In Toronto there are many places we went every year. My favourites are: The Ontario Science Centre, Centre Island, Ontario Place, Harbour Front, Adventure Playground and even the Coke Factory. There was even a summer when my day camp went to Mothers Pizza and we had free pizza for lunch.
The other part was also going on an overnight camping trip with the day camp. I didn’t mind it that much but I didn’t like having to eat regular food. I would have rather roasted marshmallows and had hotdogs and hamburgers for dinner. The other thing was that sometimes it rained and we had to stay in our tents. That sucked, especially since I had no idea that a few years later I would start to hear about Weatheradio Canada.
Anyway, to get back to The Simpsons, I like those two episodes in particular because they are the first ones to spotlight that time of the year. Also because they were aired during my favourite seasons of the series.
On the birthday front, happy 72nd birthday to Paul McCartney on June 18th. He guest starred in the episode Lisa The Vegetarian with his wife at the time Linda. This episode also reveals that Apu is a vegan. I like Paul’s work in The Beatles but not all of his solo and Wings material. I personally like the material up to about 1975, then that is where things kind of tail off for me. Yes, I like his harder rock stuff, compared to his softer and at times bouncy songs. For example: Silly Love Songs was one of those that would probably turn me off. All though I don’t really mind it much now because it is an important song in both his and Wings evolution. If that song didn’t exist I don’t know if there would have ever been any of his duets with either Michael Jackson or Stevie wonder in the 80s.
On a sad note, we lost Radio icon Casey Kasem last Sunday. He was of course the guy when it came to the American Top 40. He also voiced Shaggy on the TV program Scooby-Doo Where Are You? Yes, even as a rock fan, I liked American Top 40 too because we would hear the occasional good rocker and he did tell some funny stories. One of my favourites was about Canadian rocker Brian Adams being on tour with journey, some time in the 80s. While he was singing on stage, someone had the rather creative idea to pour corn flakes all around him until he was up to his neck in the breakfast cereal. I don’t remember exactly why this prank was pulled but I think he jokingly asked for some milk and a spoon or something.
Another thing you may not know is that he also did some Old Time Radio too. He appeared on an episode of Zero Hour playing a character which was killed. I don’t remember the names but I know it was him when I used to listen to a program called Theatre Of The Mind back when I was much younger.
Of course, The Simpsons would poke fun at his delivery, voiced by Harry Shearer. In the episode Radio Bart he announces that We Are Sending Our Love Down The Well has fallen from No. 1 all the way down to 97. You can find this episode on iTunes on the Season 3 collection and on the 20th Anniversary Collection.
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Oh, I should also mention a great new band out of Hamilton Ontario who really rock, called Black Collar Union. You can follow them on Twitter @BCU_Music.

Leave a Reply

