Simpsons Sunday – She Is Lisa Simpson

Hello and welcome to another blog post on this Simpsons Sunday. This week it is all about Lisa Simpson. I have always said to people, when they ask me who my favourite Simpsons character is, that I like the main Simpsons family equally as my favourite character or characters.
I have made reference in past posts,to the Simpsons personality test on the internet and I have some things in common with most of the family, with the exception of Maggie. She is a rather difficult character to get a read on without a lot of research using the internet. This is because I am blind and the only sound she makes is sucking her pacifier. Although, she has said the words daddy and sequel in the episode Lisa’s First Word and The Simpsons Movie, respectively. She has also said other words and phrases too. However, I digress.
In the case of Lisa Simpson, I have the following in common with her:
we both love music and in particular our mutual love of jazz. Although, my reasons are strictly as a musician and not so much for musical taste. I primarily play guitar and sing, while she plays her tenor saxophone and also sings. However, she has been shown to play piano as well as the acoustic guitar. The latter is both seen and heard on the Union Strike Folksong. This song appears in the episode Last Exit To Springfield, where she leads the striking workers in a singing protest, despite Mr. Burns turning off the power for the entire town of Springfield.
We both love animals but she is a vegetarian and I am not. However, I don’t hold it against her.
We also have an equal love for cats. Unfortunately, I have never had one but maybe some day I will, when I am ready for a pet. Actually, I like them because they are soft and relatively small, compared to most dogs. Actually, I have been afraid of dogs for most of my life, except for the small variety. We had a dog who lived with one of my fellow tenants in my apartment building. The dogsname was Taffy and she was a nice little ball of fur. I would scratch her tummy and of course, she loved it. Unfortunately, some awful disease which rampage throughout the building in late 2009, killed that dog, amongst others.
The other thing we have in common is that when someone comes into our lives who makes a real impact on us, we become emotionally attached to that person. For example: the episode Lisa’s Substitute shows exactly what I am talking about. When Mr. Bergstrom fills in for Ms. Hoover because she thinks she has Lime disease, Lisa begins to develop a sort of crush on him. He has made life wirth living in her world and has in general, made learning a lot more fun. When he receives a picture called The Singing Dork, he asks Lisa if she had dun it. She says that she hadn’t but wishes she had.
Later on in the episode when Mr. Bergstrom is set to leave, Lisa looks for him at the train station, after finding this out from his landlord, or someone at his apartment building. She meets him and tells him that she needs him. He hands her the note that says “you are Lisa Simpson” which is surely a very sweet thing to do for a little girl of that age. She is devastated as the train leaves with Mr. Bergstrom on it.
I get it because I have been there as a kid and I still get attached to people I take a liking to. I also feel like Lisa did, when we part ways. All though, I never really got any sort of note from anyone but I did get a tape recording of a couple of people who had helped me through my first few months of my 5 year stay in an institution almost 20 years ago.
If I was in Lisa’s shooes I would have probably done the same thing she did and felt exactly the same way. When I first watched the episode and also read about it on the internet it brought me back to that part of myself who clings onto people I feel I need very much. I also would feel just as shaken as Lisa was after the person in question, had been taken from my life for what ever reason. Oh, I was most certainly in tears during my first viewing, or listening, of the episode on my phone. Yes, Yeardley Smith as Lisa Simpson made me cry.
If I was Mr. Bergstrom, I would have probably tried to stay in touch with Lisa to make sure she was okay. I would have even asked to come back to Springfield elementary school as a supply teacher. Of course, in The Simpsons that didn’t happen but if it did would it have changed some things with some characters? If Bart had him as a substitute for Mrs. Krabappel how far would he go with Mr. Bergstrom? Would Nelson be the same? It’s fun to think about but let’s just leave it alone and except it as it is.
Now, as for Lisa’s other traits such as: her environmental activism, being a know it all and always wanting to be noticed, it doesn’t really bother me that much. After all, she is a little girl and not a full grown adult we are dealing with here. I would probably except what she is saying and support her as much as I could, without sacrificing my own values. I have always said that if people are nice to me, that’s all I care about. I won’t say anything bad about the character because I like her and I don’t like to dwell on the negatives. Maybe I’m being nice but that’s just who I am.
If Lisa and I were friends I think we would get along pretty good. The only thing I would want is that we respect each other and not try to change each other. I have always lived by that rule and I feel it’s important to let people be themselves. Of course, we all change a bit with the influence of our friends and it could be in varying degrees. For example: my musical tastes changed a lot when I was younger, dew to my best friend Bob Reid and his favourite bands he listened to at school. He got me into The Beatles in 1989 and Queen 2 years later.
Now that I’m older and well, I guess wiser, I have changed my tastes on my own. For example: I have mentioned in earlier posts how I became a Simpsons nut through Wikipedia.
Okay, it’s time to go through the birthdays this week. The first one is the one… The only… The incomparable… the voice of Lisa Simpson herself, Yeardley Smith. She celebrated a milestone birthday last Thursday. She may be 50 but she can tell me she’s 20 and I’d believe her. I am ultimately grateful to her, because she inspired me to start this blog back in November. If I hadn’t read her own blog I don’t know if I would have even ever thought to even get on social media. She has given me a reason to believe that I can succeed at something significant. Thank you very very very much Yeardley for inspiring me to post. I really mean that and it came along at a time when I needed something. After all, I am now in my 40s and I don’t see any way of fulfilling my dream of being a rock musician at this age. Writing is the other passion I have had throughout my life and well, I’m doing it right now. Although, I’m not being paid for it.
Before I move on I should also mention again that all of what you see, comes from my iPhone. I use Siri sometimes but I mostly use a Bluetooth keyboard plus voice over, which is a screen reading device on all iPhones from the iPhone3 onward. After all, I am blind. There is also a dictation option which I use which makes this a lot easier and it allows me to use words which are difficult to spell. If I could show each one of you how I do this, I would do it, without a second thought.
Another birthday this week is The Simpsons writer and producer Ian Macstone-Graham, who turned 55 on Thursday. He has written, co/written or produced countless episodes. I’m not going to even try to list them all so, I’ll just leave it at that.
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also, of course, recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and it is still going strong. I first heard him on the show Inside The Actors Studio, as part of The Simpsons when I went on Youtube on October 25th 2012. I have mentioned it here in past posts and well, I’m not going to trot it out again. I think I made my point on that in the two past posts about this.
Also, if you want to get in touch with me. You can come in here or send me an email at line gordie@gmail.com and I’ll get back to you if I receive anything from you. Please feel free to check out other posts in my blog that reflect my other interests. If you are into music and weather I think you will like what I have posted.

Leave a Reply

