Simpsons Sunday – What Could Have Been

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week I’m going to continue my occasional foray into what could have been. Every so often I think about people who have been dead for years and wonder if they would have gone on the show.
Before I give you my subject for this week I should tell you that the reason I mantion them is because they have a connection with the show as either a reference or as a connection to someone on the cast and crew. For example: Harry Shearer worked with Jack Benny when he was 7 years old. This was of course, back in the days of Old Time Radio and it was still in its prime. My Dad got me into it as a kid in the late 1970s and very early 1980s.
This weeks subject as a possible guest that could have been is Jim Henson. The question is, would he have made a guest appearance on The Simpsons if he hadn’t died in 1990?
This is one of the more difficult ones because of his involvment with both Sesame Street and the Muppets show. I know that most of his iconic Sesame Street characters, such as Kermit The Frog have appeared on The Simpsons in some form or another. Here’s the proof.
http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/Kermit_the_Frog
http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/The_Simpsons
After thinking about it I think he probably would have appeared on the show if Bart would actually learn from his actions and they would have to change his character to reflect this. Otherwise, I don’t know if he would have guest starred on The Simpsons as himself. All though, Hank Azaria and Harry Shearer have appeared on Sesame Street. Check this video out with Hank and Elmo. I initially got it from Hank, when he retweeted last fall.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Zmyy3pIZ8I0
Now that I think of it most of Sesame Streets most famous characters have appeared on The Simpsons. If you go on Simpsons Wiki and look for crossover characters in the characters section you will find plenty of them from many different places. I am still trying to get a handle on how many characters there actually are on the show, aside from all the regulars and secondary characters. Let’s not forget the ones who have appeared once, either on the show or in the 2007 movie.
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
Hopefully I can help her make this company a household name in shoe design. Here’s hoping this can come true some day.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and it is still going strong, despite how week more recent episodes are perceived by most people. I think it will continue for as long as it is fun for those involved with it and when it becomes a tedious experience then the show may end. However, I don’t see that happening anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

