Simpson’s Sunday – The Simpsons Movie: 7 Years Later

Hi and welcome to another post on this Simpsons Sunday. This week I’m going to talk about The Simpsons Movie, 7 years later.
I’m not going to try and give you the full story because it would take too long and you can get it from a better sourse. However, I will give you my comments on certain parts of the story.
I thought that Ned Flanders playing a more predominent roll with Bart was unusual but rather nice. The fact that they went fishing together was cool and we find out that Bart always expects people to strangle him when he does something stupid.
As for Lisa, it was nice that she had a boy friend in the movie… namely Colin, who had just immigrated from Ireland and feels the same way Lisa does about the environment. It would have been sweet for the relationship to continue into the TV show but that was not to be.
In Homer’s case, well, Homer screws everything up for both him and his family… also the entire town of Springfield. He dumps a silo full of feces into Lake Springfield and it gets the attention of the Environmental Protection Agency, headed by Russ Cargill. He proposes to the president of the United States five options and the president chooses option three. This of course is putting a dome over the entire town. I hope nothing like that ever happens with any town in Ontario that I know of.
As time passes and the Simpsons family escapes we also see the town plunge into chaos and there is an eventual crack in the dome. Russ Cargill goes to the President with another option, which he tricks him into allowing. This is of course Option 4, killing everyone in Springfield with a powerfull bomb. Hmmm, the crack in the dome… I would guess it’s from everyone in Springfield throwing what ever they could at it. Is that right Mr. Cargill?
Eventually, Homer and the rest of the Simpsons family are back in Springfield from Alaska, via different means. Russ finally meets Homer after the dome has been shattered by the bomb, after Homer and Bart manage to get it outside the dome. Everyone is unhurt except for Dr. Nick, who is speared by a large chunk saying “by everybody” and falling over.
Russ is about to kill Homer when Maggie drops a boulder on his head. Does this Kill him? Some sources say yes but I’m not quite so sure. According to the descriptive video commentary the Boulder knocks him out. All though Simpsons Wiki has him in the “deceased characters” category.
Anyway, the whole family is reunited and Lisa manages to find Collin again and they go off to get ice cream. Once again, sweet moments when Homer and Marge are reunited and Lisa finds Colin.
That is a smidgen of the story involved in the movie. For more on the movie check this article out.
http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/The_Simpsons_Movie
As for another movie, Al Jean says they won’t do one unless it is something they really believe in. I don’t blame him for that because it must have been really intense having to work on both the TV show and the movie at the same time. Let’s not forget that everyone who voiced parts in the movie on the show also had other things on their plates as well.
I think it is cool that a band like Green Day managed to get a spot in the movie, as they were playing a concert in Springfield near the beginning of the movie. Oh, let’s not forget Itchy and Scratchy at the very beginning. I’m glad the version I have is descriptive and it tells me what is going on, or else I wouldn’t have a clue what is happening outside the dialog.

Oh, let us not forget homers pet pig named either Harry Plopper or Spider Pig, depending on which part of the movie you’re watching. At first he was named Spider Pig, according to the song Homer sings. Later on, Homer called him Harry Plopper. Need I say more? If so, just watch the movie again.
This week 2 reoccurring guest voices celebrate birthdays. They are: Albert Brooks and Jon Lovitz. They have both have very successful careers in their own rights and have both at one time, done standup comedy and all manner of acting.
http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/Albert_Brooks
http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/Jon_Lovitz
They have both voiced and guest starred as characters other than themselves. I think they both have done a great job thus far and hopefully they continue to guest star on the show.
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
I’m sure he has been asked repeatedly who will die in the premier episode Clown In The Dumps and well, I don’t envy him having to give an answer such as “I can’t give it away.” Folks, read the title of the episode and the plot as we know it now… Krusty is planning to retire. It doesn’t necessarily mean he will be the one who is killed off. Then again, maybe but I will reserve my comments as to who will be taking the dirt nap.
Well, that’s it for this weeks post.
ps This week I am thinking of a friend of mine, who is a fellow Simpsons fan. She has to read a eulogy for her lifelong friend who passed away a few months ago. She will remain nameless but I am keeping her in my thoughts today, especially.

Leave a Reply

