Simpsons Sunday – Slipknot On The Simpsons

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday post. This week I’m going to talk about something that may be a bit premature but I hope it happens. This could also be a sort of part 2 of a previous post on The Simpsons and heavy metal musicians on the show.

If you have read all of my posts you know that one of my favourite bands is the heavy metal band Slipknot. I have also discussed how both the band and The Simpsons speak to me in 2 previous posts. Also, if you have read up on the band, you will know that they are into chaos, when it comes to both studio and live performances. They get right into the music and well, you never know what may happen. There is a likely possibility that they may try and set themselves on fire, literally… I’m not kidding.

There are many possibilities for plots involving the band in an episode. The following is a hodgepodge of semi-random plot ideas which the writers could use or then again, maybe not. I trust them like I trust the band.

They could play a concert in Springfield and could somehow convince either Homer or Bart to come on stage because one of the members is in hospital for a previous on stage accident or something. Before the concert they could be guests at The Simpsons house for dinner and this is how either one of the two possible events could happen on stage. Of course there is also a possibility that one of the members could go to Moe’s Tavern and meet Barney and the other regulars.

Bart could try and pull a prank at the concert or Homer could do something incredibly stupid that lands him in hospital with the also hospitalized member of Slipknot. Lisa could befriend one of the members and try and convince Bart or Homer not to do it and Marge could also be assured that because most of the band are Father’s, nothing bad will happen to either of them, especially Bart. Maybe too annoy Principal Skinner and Groundskeeper Willie all the students from Springfield Elementary school except Lisa could dress up one day in slipknot masks and coveralls.

Maybe if Krusty is still alive he could try and stop the show because of one of the members waring a clown mask. He could also try and put the band on his kids show and make the Clown the main focus. This could also be a promotion for their possible concert in Springfield and maybe even Bill and Marty could interview them on KBBL or Kent Brockman could show up when things get crazy. Maybe even Mr. Burns might try and stop the show because of the band using too much electricity or something. I don’t know.

Let us not forget that we can imagine both Rev. Lovejoy and his wife Helen Lovejoy having something to say about the band playing in Springfield and it may not be flattering. There are so many possibilities for how the band can appear on the show. I now have the new single The Negative One on my iPhone from iTunes and as a slipknot fan, or Maggett, I love the song. My calculation is that this will be the first single and there will probably be a second single, which will be for radio coming out in the next few weeks. Then, in October the new album will come out. I hope that both fans of the show and the band appreciate how much I like them both and would be as happy as Homer with a can of Duff Beer at a Slipknot show, if this happens.

On the birthday front this week, actor Dustin Hoffman celebrated his 77th birthday on Friday. He voiced Mr. Bergstrom in the Season two episode Lisa’s Substitute. This of course goes along with his other many movie and TV rolls, including Rain Man. That movie in particular was used in our drama class in 1993, for the character he played and for other voices he could do.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

