Weather Wednesday – The Dog Days Of Summer

Hi there. It is now August 12th and the summer of 2014 is not quite done but the back to school advertisements are on the radio and TV. This post will try and get some life out of summer and the so called lazy hazy tag it has been given in pop culture.

One of the things I looked forward to was going to day camp and roasting hot dogs every Tuesday. The other thing I liked was going on field trips to attractions in Toronto, where I live and was born.

Of course, back then I had no knowledge of anything like Weather Radio or any other way to get the latest weather updates, besides radio and TV. I guess if I actually had a receiver I would have taken it with me and probably annoyed most people with it.

The one time it would have come in quite handy was when we went on overnight trips and my first one was a real bummer. It rained for most of the day and we had to stay in our tents. If I had a Weather Radio I probably would have been able to let others know when the rain would possibly end and what the weather was going to be like in the night time and the next morning, when we had to go back to the day camp.

When I was 13 I tried out as a counselor in training, or CIT. I didn’t like it but looking back on it I wish I’d stuck with it because knowing what I know now I could be a real asset to everybody at whatever day camp I would eventually worked at during the summer. Sure, most people wouldn’t understand but they would eventually see that I am right in not having the day camp out doors for the majority of the day. That was the case with my last day camp I went to. When it rained we went to a near by school and it wasn’t much fun.
Here is one story which I will never forget in my teenage years, which involved weather. In 1988 I was on a camping trip with a group up north in the cottage country regional Ontario, Parke called Killbar park. It was supposed to last from Sunday to Friday but it had rained on and off most of the week and it was also cooler than it had been for most of the summer.

Before hand I had a listen to the long range forecast on the TV through Weatheradio Canada and there wasn’t any indication of heavy rain or any possible flooding. That is what in affect happened on the Thursday and it was not fun having to pack up and leave sooner then expected. If I had known about a Weather Radio receiver I think I would have been more equipped to warn everybody of what could possibly be coming in the weather forecast. Unfortunately, I had no such thing except for my Walkman with an AM/FM radio on it. Need I say more? If I knew then what I know now I could have been a hero but that wasn’t to be.If you have any comments you can reply here or email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you.
Also, for more weather stuff you can subscribe to my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter mailing list by emailing me at wxrnewsletter@gmail.com and I will send you all the issues so far. You will also receive the next issue when it comes out.
Another blog you may want to follow alongside this one is from Phil Chadwick. He is a retired meteorologist from Environment Canada and his specialty was severe weather. Here is the url.
philtheforecaster.blogspot.com
Check it out if you are a weather nut. He has stuff in there that I didn’t even know. Well, after all, he did work for Environment Canada for many years and he retired in 2011.
Well, that’s it for today’s blog post. Talk to you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

