Simpsons Sunday – About Fans

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday post. Since August 21st every Simpsons episode, including The Simpsons Movie has been aired on FXX and social media has also been hopping, with numerous comments from fans and those who were, or are a part of the writing staff and who also ran the show. I like hearing stories behind how things evolve because you always learn something new that often surprises you. At least in my case that is what happens. I guess that is why I like Wikipedia so much and other Wiki based websites, created by fans, for fans.
I also appreciate how much I have learned from watching videos on Youtube as well. If you have read earlier posts you are no doubt aware that I have made mention of this. If I hadn’t accidentally found The Simpsons episode of Inside The Actors Studio in October 2012, I probably wouldn’t have learned that the voice of Homer Simpson sounds nothing like him, in his normal speaking voice. The same can be said for most other characters voiced by everyone else on the show, including YeardleySmith as Lisa. It may not be much of a stretch from her normal speaking voice but she does make Lisa sound like the little 8-year-old girl who is wise beyond her years, whom we all know and love. She also is a great singer too and you can’t take that away from her either.
Okay, there are also a bunch of fans who rag on The Simpsons because they think the last few seasons suck. Here is my opinion on the show, over all. I think it is and still will be one of the greatest TV shows of our time. Regardless of how good or bad most recent episodes may be. I applaud everyone on the show for sticking it out through everything and keeping us entertained for the last 27 years. Most of us float in and out of the show but you only need to go on the internet to find out what you missed.
Another thing to keep in mind is that the plots and guest stars of each episode are interesting to more than just one age group of people. I ask you, what show includes: Barbershop music, guest stars as musically diverse as: Tom Jones, Tony Bennett, Placido Domingo and Metallica? Let us not forget people such as: buzz Aldrin, Penny Marshall, John Waters, Ernest Borgnine, Kirk Douglas, the 3 surviving Beatles at the time, Adam West, Michelle Pfeiffer, David Crosby, George Carlin, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Meryl Streep, Rodney Dangerfield, Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, June Foray and many, many others who have lent their voices to The Simpsons over the past 25 years as a series.
Of course there are all the crazy stories that the writers come up with for each episode. Did you ever think that: Homer would ever go into space, Bart getting his own drivers license despite his age, Maggie would actually shoot Mr. Burns or Lisa meeting her rival? There are many other plots that I have missed that are worth mentioning because they are just crazy but I don’t want to go on forever. Let’s face it, Family Guy comes close but The Simpsons is the original and we all should be proud of everyone for all their work over the years and hopefully continued success.
Another way I can put it is to think of your favourite band and tell me you like every single song they have released. I love the band Slipknot but I can’t say that I like everything in their discography. Not every song is in my playlist and I don’t know all the words to each song either. What I am trying to say is that you aren’t going to necessarily like every episode of The Simpsons, unless you are a real ultra hard-core fan and nothing else matters but your favourite: band, TV show, actor or actress, etc. In my opinion those types of fans can’t choose favourites of anything because they like everything equally and they just can’t single out one episode or character as their favourite. That’s okay because that is what makes each of us unique.
I hear the same thing from radio talk show hosts about certain bands who have been around for more than 15 years and may have either a dead significant member or has had an original member leave. Because of those 2 things the band has either changed their sound or has not written material that is up to par with their earlier stuff. Folks, this will happen to every popular entity after a while and it may come at the worst time but it is inevitable. The Simpsons is going through it with some haters on the internet and there are countless bands touring right now that should be no longer but aren’t, according to people on the internet and some of the media.
I guess The Simpsons has gone through the same thing, in a way, with people leaving the show, who have ran it in the beginning and others unfortunately passing away much too soon. Every major band or TV show has its ups and downs and as long as they can make us laugh or keep us interested consistantly that is all we should ask for.
Okay, we have to get some news about a notable death out of the way, as it relates to the Simpsons. Don Pardo passed away on August 18, at the age of 96. He was of course, the voice of Saturday Night Live for many many years and has also worked on old-time radio on such shows as: Dimension X and X Minus One. He has also been on a couple of episodes of the Simpsons: . He voiced himself in the Season 21 episode Moe Letter Blues and the Season 24 episode Moonshine River. He wiss missed by many of us who watched Saturday Night Live and heard him introducing the guest host and the musical guest or guests and sometimes participating as a voiceover in a sketch. For example: 1 quote I remember from him was “call 1-800 pushover.” I don’t remember what the fake commercial was for but I got a good laugh out of his line and I think it was either in 1989 or 1990.

Also, I should acknowledge the passing of Joan Rivers on Thursday at the age of 81. She was the guest star on the season 23 episode The Ten-Per-Cent Solution. She had a long career as a comedian and well, she will be missed by all of us.

On the birthday front, Rob Halford turned 63 on August 25th. He is of course, the frontman for the heavy metal band Judas Priest and guest starred on the Season 25 episode Steal This Episode.
bob Newhart turned 85 on Friday. He guest starred on the Season 7 episode Bart The Fink. There is a rather strange connection between his birthday and his birth year with my parents. My mom was born on September 5th (his birthday) but my dad was born in 1929, (his birth year). For the record, my Mom was born in 1933 and is still alive and my Dad passed on September 6th 2003 at the age of 74.

Another birthday that we mustn’t forget is Julie Kavner, who turns 64 on September 7th. She voices: Marge Simpson, jacqueline, Patty and Selma Bouvier, among other characters.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at
http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
You can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

