September 11th – Remembered

Hi all. Obviously today is the 13th anniversary of that terrible day, when the World Trade Center was collapsed by planes flow’n by terrorists. I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I found out what had happened.

I was doing my grocery shopping and I was having a great time. I had decided to take a taxi home and the cabbie was trying to find news of what was happening and I thought it was another suicide bomber in Israel or something like that. When I got home, I had no idea of what I was about to find out on the radio.

I had heard about it on all radio stations and even when Howard Stern was on local Toronto radio station Q107, even his show was talking about it and had people in the area helping him cover it.

I was glued to my radio all day and Wednesday with more information and repeated information on what had happened. After that I was thinking about how it was going to affect our entertainment. In my case it was New Metal that I was listening to at the time and I still listen to it. What concerned me was how much they may have to tone down some of the songs, dew to their subject matter or if they were going to just go all angry and write songs on how we should kill anyone who tries to destroy our open society. I was thinking about how they were going to react a year or so later, when their new albums came out.
I was also thinking about how much they would have to scale back on pyrotechnics, particularly concussive Pyro which makes a loud booming sound at appropriate parts of songs to get the audience to make a lot of noise. I miss that and I hope it comes back, despite everything.

Another thing that also concerned me was how much things would change when I was traveling on the bus, whether it was public transit or intercity transit. Obviously, the July 30th 2008 murder on a Canadian Greyhound bus would be years away but I had thought that things would change at the bus station too. I have traveled much since then and not much has changed except for the rising price of tickets.

As for flying on the airplains I can’t speak to that because I haven’t flow’n since 1990 and that was only because I was on a sports trip with my school.

Anyway, for me things haven’t changed all that much but I still think about that day every so often and wonder what would have happened if the flight from Boston was delayed or canceled. Would it have changed everything? I don’t know but it does make you wonder what would have been if things had been different that day, before the first plane hit at 8:46 AM.

Leave a Reply

