Simpsons Sunday – Season 26

Hello and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday post in my blog. This week is the premier of Season 26. Are you excited? I am, especially since an iconic character is slated to be killed off tonight. I was going to reveal who I thought it would be here but at the last minute I decided against it. My main reason for this is because I don’t want to spoil it for the fine people who: write, produce and contribute vocally and artistically to The Simpsons. I have too much love and respect for them and especially since I tweet out this blog to some of them most of the time. I would never even think of pulling the rug out from under them or anybody associated with this groundbreaking show.

Having said that, I did post a comment on Twitter, when the question was posed as to who the fans think could be killed off. I Will probably leave that until next week’s post. Speaking of which, I will compose a post next week celebrating the life of the character in question and recap all that happened up to tonight.

As for the rest of this upcoming season: Bart will get a new teacher who is a bully, Homer and Bart will try to resolve father and son issues, Marge will open a sandwich restaurant chain, Homer will be hypnotized to have the mind of a 10-year-old boy and he will become Barts new friend and A whole lot more I’m sure. Of course, there will be the annual Treehouse Of Horror special on October 19, which will feature The current and former voices of the Simpson family. If you’d like to learn more about that check out one of my previous posts.

Don’t forget, there is also The Simpsons and Family Guy crossover to look forward to this evening as well. A few days ago Bart and Stewie’s crank calls to Moe were leaked out and some people Took offense to it. The name Bart used as his fake name was Lee Keybum as in leaky bum. Moe Will most likely respond in his usual way and Stewie thought it was “the coolest thing ever.” When Stewie calls Moes Tavern he says “hello Moe. Your sisters being raped.”

Are you really surprised? Don’t forget, this is an episode of family Guy and The Simpsons our guest stars on it. This is a TV show which pushes the envelope, by going over the edge at times with jokes that make this clearly an adult cartoon. That is why it is called Adult Animation… It is meant for adults to laugh at and kids can enjoy it too, although the jokes are geared towards the adults Who are mature enough to realize that most of what the characters are doing isn’t necessarily right all the time. But this is also comity and with comity you can stretch the truth in order to enhance jokes.

Also, let’s take a very brief look at both child characters in the scene for a moment. Stewie is a one-year-old Genius psychopath and Bart is his usual mischievous 10-year-old self. What do you expect from either of those two characters? I’m not that surprised! After all, in this episode of Family Guy the griffins are visiting the Simpsons in Springfield. I think we should just try to relax and enjoy both episodes this evening for what they are and leave it at that. Okay?

On the birthday front, the late great Phil Hartman would’ve turned 66 years old on Wednesday. Of course, he voiced such characters on the Simpsons as: Troy McClure, Lionel Hutz and Lyle Lanley. If he was still alive today, would he be voicing one or all of the characters I mentioned on the Simpsons? I’m just asking because well, I’m curious to know what might’ve been. I bet you that if you were still alive there would’ve been a Live action movie about Troy McClure and he probably still would’ve voiced him today. Also as a Canadian, I’m proud to say that he was one of the Simpson’s Canadian content who is actually born in Canada but not a character Who was created to be from Canada. In fact, both him and Wayne Gretzky are from the town of Branford Ontario, where it is also the home to W Ross McDonald school for the blind. That is where I went to school and discovered the Simpson’s for the first time in the early 90s.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again soon.

Leave a Reply

