Review Of .5: The Gray Chapter From Slipknot

Hi there and welcome to another post in the blog. Today, I am going to write a review of the new Slipknot album .5: The Gray Chapter.

I had a chance to listen to it once this morning and I have some comments to make about it, which are observational in nature. I am a fan and Slipknot are one of the bands who can do what ever they want and I will follow them, much like I do The Simpsons.

As has been pointed out before by varius members of Slipknot in the past few months, it is a cross between their albums Iowa and Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses) and incorporates elements from both of them, to help create the new album. However, I hear other influences creeping in from outside the band, including Corey Taylor’s other band Stone sour. This is heard on the track Goodby, when it starts out dark an creepy, like the track Blue Smoke from House Of Golden Bones Pt 2 and builds like the older Slipknot classic Gently. It starts in the key of e flat minor, which is one of the more common key’s that Stone Sour songs are written in and it changes key to b minor, with the dropped b tuning and ends up sounding more like a Slipknot track.

The second track Sarcastrophe starts out creepy too, and ends up sounding like a potential show opener on tour. It is one of the songs which uses 7 stringed guitars with the lowest note as a natural. The Devil And I is the other song which is also tuned with the low a.

The guitar solo’s are there again and this time there are no acoustic guitars to be heard. The best thing about this album for me is that they haven’t strayed from their sound very much, except for adding the melody and guitar solo’s, which have been heard on the last couple of albums. I have 7 songs in my iTunes library from it right now and I am looking forward to Tuesday, when the rest will be downloaded onto my iPhone.

Oh, in case you are wondering how I managed to hear the rest of the album, I clicked onto a website which plays it in its entirety, minus the Special Adition and I listened to what I didn’t have. Here is the link. http://www.5thegraychapter.com/xix

As a fan of the band from their 1999 debut to present day, I hope all Slipknot fans will join me in both preordering the new album or downloading it from iTunes and buying a physical copy of the album too. Also, I hope to see them this time on tour. I almost saw them in 2009 but it just didn’t work out. This is a new chapter in Slipknot’s history and the possibilities are nearly endless as to what they can and can’t do. Of course, they will only do what feels write artistically to them and that is fine with me. I just hope they will maybe appear on The Simpsons some day.

That is it for todays post. If you want to get in touch with me just send me an email at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you. Thanks for reading this and “stay sic.”

Leave a Reply

