Weather Radio manufacturers

Hi there and welcome to another Weather Wednesday. This week I’m going to talk about Weather Radio Manufacturers and the difference between them and their weather Radio products.

If I had to say my least favorite manufacture it would be Reacom because… Despite being much like my favorite manufacture of weather radio’s my problem is that the default settings are not standardized on all products. It is hard for someone like myself to set up a weather radio if I don’t know what the defaults are and then of course, I can’t use the unit to the best of my ability. Another problem is that there is one product which can only be programmed using a computer. I don’t like that and if I buy a weather radio I want to buy one which I can program by hand, first and foremost. that is why the defaults are so important for me to know what they are and if it is the same on all models.

My second least favorite manufacturer of weather radio’s is Oregon Scientific, who make: weather stations, atomic clocks another neat toys. Weather radios are not really at the top of their priority list but they have made a few and I have at least two of them: the W-R602 and the W-R601. The former was actually known as the W-R108 before it was recalled in late summer 2007 because it wasn’t alerting properly. That is one of my main concerns with that particular model and I find it hard to program in general. Although, I have used it for a couple of years until, well, see below.

Now, my favorite manufacturer is Midland Corporation and their weather radios are just outstanding in all manner of aspects. I find them easy to use although, I don’t program the SAME codes for my area because that is the one problem I have with any weather radio. However, all weather radios have an option where you can leave it on any or all counties and it will alert you to all watches and warnings where you are. The other advantage for me is that watches, warnings and advisories all send out different alarm sounds from the weather radio’s speaker or a head set for private listening. This makes it easier to figure that either a watch warning or advisory is being issued from my area so I don’t have to wait for the voice. However, I do listen through everything including the alarm. My favorite three models are: the W-R300, the W-R120 and the HH54VP model. The first two are desktop models and the latter is a handheld. I have discussed them all in past issues of my newsletter and in past entries in this blog. You may check it out if you like. There are other manufacturers out there such as: Uniden, Alert Works, Ambient Weather, Sangean and many more.

If you have any comments you can reply here or email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you.
Also, for more weather stuff you can subscribe to my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter mailing list by emailing me at wxrnewsletter@gmail.com and I will send you all the issues so far. You will also receive the next issue when it comes out.
Another blog you may want to follow alongside this one is from Phil Chadwick. He is a retired meteorologist from Environment Canada and his specialty was severe weather. Here is the url.
philtheforecaster.blogspot.com
Check it out if you are a weather nut. He has stuff in there that I didn’t even know. Well, after all, he did work for Environment Canada for many years and he retired in 2011.
Well, that’s it for today’s blog post. Talk to you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

