The Death Of Marcia Wallace: 1 Year Later

Hi all and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday entry in the blog, on Saturday. This week is the first anniversary of the death of Marcia Wallace, who voiced Bart Simpsons 4th Grade teacher Edna Krabappel. Her character was also married to Ned Flanders from Season 23 to Season 25, until her death.

Like the murder of John Lennon and the September 11th attacks, I remember where I was when I heard that she died. It was a Saturday morning on October 26 2013. I had just woke from a nap and had checked my messages on my iPhone, including Twitter. That was where I first read that she Had passed away and I was very upset to hear the news. Here is what I received on Twitter that morning. https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=538337769579992&l=68b2f2465a

Over the past few months prier to this I had been catching up with episodes I had missed and reading up on all the main and supporting cast. Despite the character she voiced on The Simpsons I didn’t think she was like that at all. In fact, I thought she was as everyone had been tweeting and blogging about her, that she was a very kind, very sweet woman. This was also my first experience with breaking news of someone dying via Twitter.

I have mentioned why I believe that she was as gentle as she was in past entries and it has to do with how Mrs. Krabappel reacted to Bart crying after actually making an honest effort to pass a test in school. This showed me that when Mrs. Krabappel was comforting Bart that it was the real Marcia coming out as a part of the character. When she said “there there” and comforted him that convinced me just who the person behind the voice was.

I think it was the right thing to do, for The Simpsons to retire the character in her memory. It wouldn’t be the same if someone else tried to voice her and it would be like a singer replacing another who had either left the band or passed away. For example: could you really replace Freddie Mercury in Queen? or Paul Rogers in Bad Company? Well, Bad Company tried but it wasn’t the same.

I also like how Edna was retired and that last seen in The Man Who Grew Too Much was nice. It was great when Edna Krabappel was an alive character and now that she is gone, it is a turning point in the series. Who will Bart’s next teacher be on a permanent basis? Will this new teacher be able to become as popular a character as Mrs. Krabappel was? Only time will tell and it is certainly exciting and sad at the same time. This new teacher will add a new energy to The Simpsons.

In the news, last week it was announced that Sammy Hagar who currently sings for the soopergroup Chickenfoot and once sang for van Halen and Montrose will be guest starring on the episode Cover Craft. It is said to be a very musical episode and will air on November 23rd.

As for Sammy Hagar’s other band besides Van Halen, check out the first album from Montrose. It has a classic track Bad Moter Scooter and another gem is Rock The Nation. This album alone helped to inspire some 1980s bands to form, such as: Tesla and Extreme. It really isn’t a surprise that Gary Cherone replaced him in Van Halen in 1996, because they have a similar style but Sammy’s range is a bit higher. I think they have even sang together on stage a few times too. I also know that Sammy has spoken highly of Queen guitarist Brian May too. You may not know this but Sammy is also a great guitarist in his own right. He has even played guitar alongside Eddie Van Halen, while in van Halen during some shows.

Sammy Hagar also has a successful solo career with his best-known song being I Can’t Drive 55. Another one of his more well known songs being There’s Only One Way To Rock. Check out his wikipedia page. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sammy_Hagar
I can’t wait to hear what he does on The Simpsons… This is going to be just as cool if Slipknot ever guest starrs on the show.

On the birthday front, Nancy Cartwright turns another year older today. She of course, voices Bart Simpson, Ralph Wiggum, Nelson Muntz and other child characters on the show. If you haven’t read it or heard it yet, I encourage you to buy her book My Life As A 10-Year-Old Boy. If you get the audiobook version it will give you the whole experience as she does voices from the Simpsons and others. I downloaded it from iTunes earlier this year and I love listening to her go on about The Simpsons and other things she touches on in the book.

Another notable birthday is Seth MacFarlane, who turns 41 tomorrow and is the creator of: Family Guy, American dad, the Cleveland show, cosmos and other shows. He has guested as Ben on the Season 24 finale Dangers On A Train.

One thing that both myself and Seth have in common is that we are the same age but I’m a few months older than him. If I wasn’t 3 months premature I would have probably been born in September 1973 and would be 1 month older than him.

Another thing we have in common is music. We have both written songs but none of mine have ever been big radio hits. In fact only one song has ever been recorded back in 1997, when I was 23 going on 24 years old. If you would like to hear it, sorry, it isn’t on iTunes and the only way to get it is from me directly. The other musical difference between the two of us is that he is more into traditional pop, jazz and swing. I am more of a rock and heavy metal guy.

Another birthday coming up is Dan Castellaneta, who turns 57 on Wednesday. He of course, voices: homer Simpson, Krusty The Clown, Groundskeeper Willie, Barney Gumble, Grandpa Simpson, Mayor Quimby and other male characters on The Simpsons. He has also released 2 solo albums: Two Lips and I Am Not Homer, which features the song So Dumb (Homer’s Lament).

If you ever hear him being interviewed his speaking voice is so different from the majority of the characters he voices on The Simpsons and he is also a great writer and singer too.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

