Hurricane Sandy In Southern Ontario

Hi and welcome to another Weather Wednesday. This week it is the 2nd anniversary of Hurricane Sandy and all events surrounding it. As a note of interest, this post, is exactly 2 weeks after the 60th anniversary of hurricane Hazel, which affected Southern Ontario after copious amounts of rain had fallen and the hurricane itself wasn’t actually a hurricane anymore.

If you like more on that just look at Wikipedia. It started on October 26th when the first weather statements were issued for Southern Ontario. I had just got back from Minden where I was speaking to the Minden Amateur Radio Club about Weather Radio and how a transmitter was and still is needed for the area. When it all started with the first special weather statement from Environment Canada, it got me thinking about Hurricane Hazel and the impact it had on Toronto in 1954. Of course, I wasn’t even a twinkle in my Father’s eyes yet and I wouldn’t be in this world for another 19 years.

However, this made me very aware of what could happen if a natural disaster were to occur and I was unable to get out of my apartment, without being forced outside by the power of the winds and killed. As a Ham Radio operator and an ARES member I am very in the loop with the news and I try to keep up with it 24/7. This of course, includes any severe weather events.

As for Sandy, it was a storm which ushered in the next wave of colder air and it made it rain steadily for 3 or 4 days strait and on Monday October 29th a wind warning was issued for most of Southern Ontario, including the GTA.

I actually have more on this in the Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter, in Issue 6. If you would like to get on the mailing list, just sent me an email at the following email address below.

If you have any comments you can reply here or email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you.
Also, for more weather stuff you can subscribe to my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter mailing list by emailing me at wxrnewsletter@gmail.com and I will send you all the issues so far. You will also receive the next issue when it comes out.
Another blog you may want to follow alongside this one is from Phil Chadwick. He is a retired meteorologist from Environment Canada and his specialty was severe weather. Here is the url.
philtheforecaster.blogspot.com
Check it out if you are a weather nut. He has stuff in there that I didn’t even know. Well, after all, he did work for Environment Canada for many years and he retired in 2011.
Well, that’s it for today’s blog post. Talk to you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

