Prank Calls

Hi there and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday entry in the blog. This week, I’m going to talk about the art of prank calling and how The Simpsons has used it for comedy.

Of course, Moe, as the bar tender of Moe’s Tavern is the recipient, mainly of the calls made by Bart. They have been made using actual phone calls to the bar and also by text message, such as in the Season 22 episode Love Is A Many Strangled Thing, when he textx Moe with a message saying “I Am a Winer.” This sparks Moe to try and text back but he accidentally donates $20to Haiti.

My favourites are of course in the first few seasons of the series, when all the calls are made to Moe’s Tavern by Bart. I could probably go through all the fake names and Moe’s reactions to the laughs they provoke from the patrons such as: Barney, Homer and others. However, I have a few of my favourite names here and at the end of this post I will give you some links to most or all the calls.

Homer Sexual, (homosexual). This was heard in the episode Principal Charming, when Principal Skinner had caught Bart vandalizing the Springfield elementary school playground and told Bart to call his father “immediately.”

Lee Keybum, (leaky bum). Bart made this call during the Simpsons/ Family Guy Crossover episode Simpsons Guy, with Stewie in his room.

Ivanna Tinkle, (I wanna tinkle). This and Amanda Hugginkiss (a man to hug and kiss) were heard in the Season 4 episode New Kids On The Block.

Hugh Jass, (huge ass). This prank call backfired because there really was a person in the bar by that name, in the episode Flaming Moe’s.
Those are some of my favourites and here is a link to all of them and Moe’s reactions to them. http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/Bart%27s_prank_calls

Here also, is a Youtube video with the best of the prank calls made, from the first few seasons. Don’t forget that not all are made by Bart. Other characters have also made such calls on the show as well. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FtKnTegOIM4

In the news this week, Slipknot has their second No. 1 album with .5, The Gray Chapter. No, it doesn’t have anything to do with The Simpsons but it does have something to do with one of the many guest stars. Singer Corey Taylor was interviewed by talk show host Larry king, who first guested on the Simpson’s on the episode One Fish, Two Fish, Blowfish, Blue Fish, as a narrator on tape, of The Bible, which Homer listened to as he was dying. Obviously,that didn’t happen and well, you know how it tunrs out if you have watched this episode. Obviously he is still alive and as fat, stupid and loveable as ever. Does this mean that a member of Slipknot or Stone Sour will guest star on The Simpsons any time soon? I don’t know but there is always hope. I certainly hope it happens and the episode they appear in is as funny as the classic episodes in the first few seasons.

Anyway, for my Slipknot fans, here is the link I received on Twitter. http://www.kerrang.com/24580/corey-taylor-talks-slipknot-mask-paul-gray-larry-king/
Here is a direct link to the interview itself on Youtube. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dm-A6270UFY

In birthdays this week, Marcia Wallace would have been 72 yesterday. I mentioned the anniversary of her death last week! She was also known as the receptionist on The Bob Newhart Show, when it was going strong.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday, or sooner. You just never know when I may post something new. To be honest, even I can’t predict when I will get the creative muse to post a new entry in the blog.

Leave a Reply

