The Simpsons In Other Media

Hi there and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. Today I am going to talk about The Simpsons in other forms of media.

Okay, we know about the commercials for various products such as Butterfinger and CD’s with songs from the show and by the characters. But, where else is there that The Simpsons has been heard or seen?

Of course the comic books and video games are among many other areas of media in which the Simpsons has appeared. Let us not forget the 2007 Simpsons Movie, which I discussed last July 27th. There is also The Simpsons Ride, at Universal Studios in Orlando and Hollywood and they even have people dressed as the characters too. I can’t imagine being dressed as either Homer or Marge for more than 3 hours without wanting to get out of that costume. Actually, I would probably be more fit to be dressed as one of the kids. I wish I was joking but I’m not!

Let us not forget that The Simpsons characters have also been put on clothing, such as: boxer shorts and T-shirts, as well as clocks and even bred. Imagine making a sandwich with Bart Bred? Even a talking Bart doll isn’t out of the question. Unfortunately, I have yet to own an article of clothing or anything with the Simpsons characters on them. Well, Christmas is coming up.

As for the characters themselves, some of them have appeared on other TV shows such as Sesame Street and of course, Family Guy a few weeks ago. As for Sesame Street, I can’t imagine Homer strangling Bart on that show or Bart sassing back Homer or Marge because, after all, it is an educational show for kids and well, I hope Bart was good on that show at least. I wonder if Bart an Oscar the grouch were paired off on Sesame Street.

Something else that I have noticed ever since the 90s is that clips from the show have been sampled for radio. Usually it is a Homer sample about Beer or donuts or something to do with food. Occasionally a Bart sample of one of his catchphrases is heard or maybe even “excellent “from Mr. Burns might be heard on the radio for some reason. Since songs from the show have been released on CD and other radio friendly formats they have been heard as well. For example: I have heard The Gabbo Song on the radio either with the last bit “It’s the greatest show in town” or the whole song without the dialog at the end of the track. Even Barney singing “buy me a beer” from A Buzzehound Named Barney has been sampled for a radio spot about not drinking and driving.

Whether you are a fan of the show or not, you can’t really get away from it because you will no doubt hear about it or from it on the radio somewhere in either a sound clip, station ID or as a crazy theme song for some morning or afternoon Drive guy. The Simpsons has been inserted onto our radios whether we like it or not and of course, I love it.

On a sad and kind of unrelated note to the show, it was 1 year ago Friday that a radio Icon in Western New York and Southern Ontario was taken from us way too soon. His name was iron Mike Bensson and he spent the last 18 years of his life at 97.7 HTZFM in St Catharines Ontario. I have met him a few times at the radio station and on location at events they were involved in at the time. He was always cool and took the time to talk to me and he would even chat with me on the phone sometimes.

He had a segment of his show called The Teaser, where he would play 3 songs and you would have to guess how they all fit together. I was pretty good at guessing most of them and I won an overnight bag and luggage with that contest back in 1997. When a listener would make a guess he would use clips from movies, TV shows or comedy bits before playing a buzzer sound if you were wrong or a ding, laughing and fanfare type sound clip for the right guess. I think he has used more than 1 Simpsons clip during that time and I have heard some Homer clips on one of the id’s during the summers of 2013 and last summer.

Unfortunately, he passed away November 7th 2013 of esophageal cancer at the age of 60. I know that he loved The Simpsons, as does most, if not all who work at 97.7 HTZFM. I know this because they are my friends. Before working at HTZFM he worked at 103.3 The Fox in Buffalo New York and I remember hearing him as well as others who worked at either HTZ or other radio stations on the Canadian boarder of the US. We all miss you Mike and needless to say, I think about him every day..
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

