Patty And Selma

Hi there and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week I’m going to talk about Patty and Selma, as best I can. They are the twin sisters of Marge, who have a strong dislike of Homer. Actually, I can’t tell which one is which because to me, they sound the same, despite that some internet sourses say that Patty sounds different from Selma. Of course, they and Marge are voiced by Julie Kavner, who also voices Gloria in the Season 2 episode The War Of The Simpsons, where she does not have a gravelly voice.

The one thing that has puzzled myself and other fans is who will eventually hook up and tie the knot with either of them, on a permanent basis. Sideshow Bob was briefly married to Selma, despite Bart’s mistrust of him, which was correct. Patty almost got married to Principal Skinner before she broke it off and they never saw each other again. Then she came out of the closet during the Season 16 episode There’s Something About Marrying.

They both love to smoke, which would be a problem for them in real life because most governments are banning smoking in many places such as outside work places and the list is getting longer every so often. If they were real people they would probably be either dead from lung cancer or in Selma’s case, if she had accidentally left a cigarette somewhere and would cause a fire. In her case, she has no sense of taste or smell.

Another thing about Selma that I can relate to is that she is a licensed Ham Radio operator. I have been for 5 years now and Selma was said to be a ham in Season 4’s Selma’s Choice. It’s funny that she hasn’t revealed her call sign, all though Principal Skinner has.

If they were real people would they be likeable? If you don’t mind rubbing their feat or are willing to put up with their smoking, then the answer is yes. I have always said that if people are nice to me then I am nice to them too.

Last week was the Simpsons Futurama cross over episode Simpsorama or however it is spelled. This week we will get to meet Bart’s new 5th grade teacher, who is also a bully, voiced by guest star Willem Dafoe. Who knows if this new teacher will be permanent or not.

On the birthday front, another guest star of the show turns 70 years old tomorrow. Veteran actor and director producer Danny DeVito celebrates his 70th birthday tomorrow and of course, guested as Homer’s half brother Herb Powell on Season 2’s Oh Brother, Where Are Thow? and Season 3’s Brother, Can You Spare Two Dimes?

When I looked him up on Wikipedia I learned how old he is and I’m shocked. He sounds about 10 or 20 years younger than his age to me. Actually, he reminds me of a weather guy on The Weather Channel in the US. I don’t know why but he does.

Also, guitarist Kirk Hammett of metallica celebrates a birthday on Tuesday. I’ve mentioned Metallica before and well, just look at past entries for more on them. On a personal note, I am building my Digital collection of their music and I’ve been meaning to do that for a while because they are one of my favourite bands, before they appeared on The Simpsons. I don’t like to do this too often but here is the link to my Metallica post back in May. https://blindgordieblog.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/simpsons-sunday-metallica/

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

