Simpsons Christmas Pt 1

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This month I’m going to talk about the Christmas episodes from The Simpsons that stand out for me the most right now. I will do 3 this year from now to Christmas day and then next year I will probably do more of them, if the blog is still active then.

This week I’m going to talk about the Season 9 Christmas episode Miracle On Evergreen Terrace, which was the first episode I had watched during June of 2013. This is the one where Bart gets up early and opens his presents. At one point one of the toys causes a fire, which burns of the Christmas tree and the other presents and he tells the rest of the family that a burglar did this. On the news everyone hears about the story and donates $15000.00 to the Simpson family and they buy a new car, which is promptly driven into a lake by Homer. Then when Bart tells the truth the media soon find out thanks to a camera man and Santa’s Little Helper. They soon realize that the remains of all the presents are still there and well, the Simpson family are now the most hated people in Springfield. Everyone shuns them and even take what they can find from their house. However, Marge tries going on Jeopardy with Alex Trebek to win money to pay the towns people back. Unfortunately, that does not work.

I have one question about this episode! When we hear the water dripping and all the sounds related to it before Bart gets up to go to the bathroom to pea, is it a dream sequence or are we just going into Bart’s head? The chanting of “we’re no. 1” and “give me a pea…. go go go, pea pea pea….” also brought this to mind.

Another thing I am wondering is what happened at the end of the episode? Did the towns people actually give them some of their stuff back or what? Moe did say “we kinda hated being mad at you so we decided to make things right.” I don’t know what happened visually but the sound of water in that seen doesn’t really give me any indication as to what the towns people did then. If you have seen this episode and you can see, tell me what happened. I really can’t figure it out from the audio.

Once again, I first watched it on Youtube during June 2013 just after my 40th birthday, along with many other episodes. I will be doing a post about 2 more Christmas episodes before December 25th.

Before I forget, I have a recommendation for those of you who like audio books. There is a new book which came out this year called We Put The Spring In Springfield: Chronicling The Golden Era Of ‘The Simpsons by Justin Sedgwick. This book talks about the period from Seasons 3 to Season 8, in which it is thought to be the golden era of the series’s history. I think it is a good book and it is at a nice price on iTunes. I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to purchase it for yourself this Christmas. I did and I agree with what the writer is saying and it made me think about why some episodes are important in how The Simpsons has evolved in the early years, from a standard sitcom type of show to a more bizarre surreal entity. Check it out.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again next Sunday or if I have something else to write about before then.

Leave a Reply

