Homer Simpson’s Voices

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. I hope you all had a great Christmas, Hanukkah or however you celebrate the holiday season. Hopefully you got some great stuff from the big fat guy and I don’t mean Homer Simpson. Speaking of him, today I’m going to try and talk about Homer Simpsons voices and when they really went back and forth.

Okay, I should give this topic some background before I go too deep into it. On the Tracey Ullman shorts and the first season of The Simpsons, Dan Castellaneta voiced Homer with a Walter Matthau type of voice. This voice was fine at first but when it came time for more emotion in the character it became a problem. From Season 2 onward the voice became more robust and had more range to it and it was fully formed at the beginning of Season 3, when Stark Raving Dad premiered. Come to think of it, Grandpa Simpson sounded a bit different before Season 3 too but it wasn’t as obvious as with Homer.

Homer has reverted back to the Walter Matthau voice very few times since the beginning of Season 3, but I can think of one more example of this. When Marge tells Homer to take Milhouse home after an evening with Krusty during the episode Like Father, Like Clown, listen to how Homer says the word “gladly,” when Marge suggests that he take Milhouse home. I think it was unintentional but I could hear some of the Walter Matthau voice returning, but briefly.

In the Season 23 episode How I Wet Your Mother, there is a seen where Homer reverts back to Walter Matthau for a couple of minutes and the family goes back to sort of how they were on The Tracey Ullman Shorts. This was also during a dream that Homer was having with the family in it with him, in order to find out why he is wetting the bed.

The latest Installment of Treehouse Of Horror also sees homer reverting back to the Walter Matthau sound, as well as the other Simpsons family cast members reverting back to their pre-Simpsons voices too. I just think it is interesting to listen carefully to all the dialog and the voices, in order to hear things that you may not have noticed on the first listen. If there are any other times when this has occurred I have yet to find them.

Well, The Simpsons is back for 2015, with the episode The Man Who Came To Be Dinner. I have been reading about this one since the summer of 2013 and now it will finally be aired tonight. I am also looking forward to the up coming episode Bart’s New Friend and that should be another interesting one. Anyway, I’m getting ahead of things!

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

