Barts New Friend

Hi all and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday entry in the blog. This week is my review of the latest Simpsons episode Barts New Friend. As mentioned last week, it was a reworked script written by Judd Apatow, way back in 1990 before he became big.

This time the Simpson family are at The circus, where Homer is hypnotized to have the mind of a 10-year-old. He obviously bonds well with Bart and later on he is switched back to his normal self. Earlier internet sourses said that the hypnotist dies and Homer would remain in this state, which is what Bart wanted.

I think the story is quite interesting in that Homer becomes a 10-year-old and becomes Bart’s new friend and thankfully, the bullies leave Bart alone because of Homer. All though it is not really that much of a stretch to see and hear Homer in this state, because he sometimes has the maturity of a child, even though he is a fully grow’n adult.

one thing I didn’t expect is to see Chief Wiggum hipnotized to be the hypnotist and the hypnotist as Chief Wiggum. I thought that was a bit odd but okay. Another thing I didn’t find out about untill after I had watched the episode is a tribute to those who died in last weeks terrorist attack on the satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo. Check this link out for more. http://time.com/3663501/charlie-hebdo-the-simpsons-paris-terror-attack/ On Twitter, Simpsons writer Stephanie Gillis, wife of fellow Simpsons writer and Executive Producer Al Jean, said it best when she tweeted ” Maggie speaks for all of us at The Simpsons on tonights show.” I think Maggie speaks for all of us, period, with her actions and tribute to those who died last week in the attack. There is a bit more to this episode but I’ll leave that up to you to watch it.

As for the next episode, it will air on the 25th and it guest stars Elon musk and is called The musk Who Fell To Earth. I’m not sure what to make of it but I’ll let you watch this one.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, there is a new site which just came online yesterday at http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

