Korn

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week it’s all about The nu metal band Korn. They formed in 1993 and they released their debut album entitled Korn, in October 1994. They released their second album Life Is Peachy in 1996 and their third album Follow The Leader in 1998. This album contains the single Freak On A Leash, which appeared in the Season 18 episode Stop, Or My Dog Will Shoot.

From 1999 to 2003, they released 3 more albums, with declining sails and a Greatest Hits album in 2004. Guitarist Brian Welch left the band and original drummer David Silveria left the band in 2007. Since 2004 Korn have released 5 studio albums with varying degrees of success and musical styles. Their 2011 album The Path Of Totality experimented with Dub Step, which was relatively new at the time and unheard of in rock and metal. Some fans such as myself hated this direction and most of the next and most recent album The Paradigm Shift, which saw the return of Brian Welch in 2013. Right now they are currently touring with Slipknot and writing songs for a new album. I hope it will be a return to a sound similar to the early days but I’m not holding my breath.

I actually saw Korn twice in 1999 in Hamilton and 2002 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto. The first show was much better than the second because by the time 2002 rolled around the band didn’t sound very united and in 1999 Korn were promoting Follow The Leader, which is probably my favourite Korn album, along with the first 2.

I should also mention that they also started their own record label Elementree Records, which no longer exists. The most prominent band was Orgy, who had a big hit with their cover of New Order’s Blue Monday in 1998. They have also periodically toured with their own Family Values Tour. This included such bands as: Limp Bizkit, Incubus, Stone Sour, Ice Cube, Orgy, Rammstein, Deftones, Trivium, Five Finger Death Punch and many others over the years. I have always liked their live sound and singer Jonathan Davis actually sounded better during live performances in the early days for some reason. This is before the band included harmonized vocals in the sound and a more melodic song structure. Of course the thing that stands out for me is the use of 7 stringed guitars and the higher tuned snare drum on the first 3 albums, especially. To me it doesn’t sound like a Korn album without that highly tuned snare drum. It’s almost a part of the sound!

Is there a chance we could see Korn guesting on The Simpsons any time soon? Hmmm, I wonder! It would be interesting, after all they did guest on South Park during their 1999 Halloween episode, premiering the new single at the time, which was Falling Away From Me from their 4th album Issues.

Last Sunday, Korn singer Jonathan Davis turned 44 years old and still sounds the same as he did back in 1994. All though, if you listen carefully you can hear the development of his voice over time. It’s not easy to hear but it has progressed from back then to now. The most striking thing about him and the rest of the band is how approachable they are offstage to the media and the fans. You would think that these guys aren’t in the band because of their contrasting personalities on and off stage. Of course, one other thing sets Korn apart from everyone else in metal, which is the use of bagpipes. On the surface it sounds silly but it really has become a part of Korn’s sound and well, it’s fine with me because I am part Scottish. Hmmm, maybe Groundskeeper Willie can learn to play them from Jonathan Davis. I’ll just leave it at that for now.

Before I move on to other things I had a dream yesterday that Seth MacFarlane was visiting where I live and talking with us about acting and voice work, for some weird reason. I have always wanted to ask him in regards to Peter Griffin, which came first: the voice or the picture? Unfortunately, I didn’t have a chance to ask him anything because I woke up before I had a chance to go down to hear him speak, using his character voices such as Stewie Griffin or which ever one would provoke laughs the most. Okay, this has nothing to do with The Simpsons but I just wanted to put this in so I didn’t forget it.
One other thing that just crossed my mind is another episode where Homer goes into space. Maybe this time he could be part of a probe that doesn’t even go to its Target destination but ends up right back in Springfield. What made this thought possible was downloading the song Beagle 2, which is a rare instrumental track from the Brit Pop band Blur. Remember the Beagle 2 probe around 2003? This track was composed especially for it and is probably one of the most interesting tracks in the bands catalog. You can find this track on the deluxe version of their album 13. This may not have anything to do with The Simpsons either but once again, I just wanted to put it in here so I didn’t forget about it.
As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

