1816

Hello and welcome to another Weather Wednesday. This week I am wondering if there could be another year like 1816. If you don’t know what I am talking about, that was the year without a summer and it had a massive affect on the economy.

I think that 1992 was close in some parts of the world, after the 1991 eruption of Mount Pinatubo, which certainly screwed up the weather throughout the world until some time in 1993. I wonder how we would be able to manage if another summerless year hits us again? Back then there wasn’t the technology we have today and this includes all the ways we have to get around. I recently read up on 1816 and it made me question how things would be different now if we had this thrust upon us.

Well, that’s all I have for today.
If you have any comments you can reply here or email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you.
Also, for more weather stuff you can subscribe to my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter mailing list by emailing me at wxrnewsletter@gmail.com and I will send you all the issues so far. You will also receive the next issue when it comes out.
Another blog you may want to follow alongside this one is from Phil Chadwick. He is a retired meteorologist from Environment Canada and his specialty was severe weather. Here is the url.
philtheforecaster.blogspot.com
Check it out if you are a weather nut. He has stuff in there that I didn’t even know. Well, after all, he did work for Environment Canada for many years and he retired in 2011.
Well, that’s it for today’s blog post. Talk to you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

