Simpsons Fan Fiction: Revisited

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. Before I get into the meat of todays entry, I would like to talk about last weeks episode Walking Big And Tall.

At the beginning of the episode we find that Springfield’s anthem has been using the same tune as other cities, so Lisa decides to write it with the help of Bart. While discussing it with Marge and Homer, they reference Happy Birthday Lisa from Stark Raving Dad, which was written by Bart and Leon Kompowsky. They write the song, which all the children sing and they get a standing ovation.

Mean while, Homer discovers a group of overweight people who convince him that it’s okay to be big. This group consists of such characters as: Jeffrey Albertson and other portly citizens of Springfield including their founder named Albert, who is voiced by Kevin Michael Richardson. You may know him as the voice of one time nameless characters throughout the Simpsons recent years. He was the security guard in the episode Homer The Whopper and he voiced Jerome on the Simpsons Family Guy cross over episode Simpsons Guy, in the scene where he hands Peter Griffin a beer and Peter asks “what do I owe yoU?” Jerome answers “you already paid me, in laughs. Ha ha ha.” Unfortunately, Albert dies at the end of the episode at the age of 23 and Homer realizes this, when he reads Albert’s eulogy. Oh, thanks Al Jean for your help with this weeks entry.

I like this episode because it didn’t jump back-and-forth from one scene to the next. Also, I noticed that both songs Happy Birthday Lisa and the new Springfield anthem are in the same key of c natural. Not that it’s a bad thing but it is just interesting. I think that both Nancy Cartwright and Yeardley Smith sound great together as Bart and Lisa, while singing in two part harmony in character. It was also nice to hear other kids such as: Milhouse, Nelson, Dolph and Wralph Wiggum singing the song together, without anyone getting hurt. I just wished that Bart and Lisa hugged instead of fist bumping with towels over their hands.

This week I am going to talk about the fan fiction. Over the past few weeks, while being either sick or bored at home, I havde been reading some of the Simpsons Fan Fiction stories and I find that Simpsons fans have a great imagination and well, I’m impressed.

Some of the stories and scenarios I like are as follows:

Bart, Lisa and Maggie moving in with Ruth Powers after Homer and Marge are charged with child abuse,
Wralph Wiggum actually being a Genius helping Prof. Frink and Dr. colossus,
Bart telling the truth to his family about how he feels he has been treated by them and everyone else in Springfield and thus coming unglued and Wralph Wiggum finds himself a new girlfriend and oh, it’s not Lisa.

You can check out these stories and more by clicking this link. https://m.fanfiction.net/cartoon/Simpsons/

Okay, I hate to do this but we have to acknowledge the death of a legendary DJ. Remember Gary Owens? He was a real DJ and a voice actor. He was also a good friend of Dick Clark. He talked about their friendship in interviews, such as an interview with a Toronto radio station back in 1987. Gary Owens was 80 years old. Check out this link for more. http://ajournalofmusicalthings.com/another-legendary-dj-passed/

On the birthday front, happy 61st birthday to: the man, the myth, the legend, the creator himself, Matt Groening. Of course we also know that he has created Futurama but did you know he was also a rock critic? I found this out through an audiobook on iTunes, where he talks about his favorite album of all time, Trout Mask Replica by Captain Beefheart. If you are into outsider music that is way outside the box, you know what I’m talking about and what it sounds like. I’ve heard a couple of tracks and well, it sounds like partially controlled chaos to me.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4. Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

