Spring Is Coming: Really?

Hello and welcom to another Weather Wednesday. First of all, I would like to say a happy belated birthday to Jim Cantore, who turned 51 on Monday. I mentioned him and the thundersnow Youtube video a couple of weeks ago and I still love it, ever since 2011.
Secondly, the latest issue of my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter has just come out and I am always looking for new people on the mailing list. The email is at the end of this post and other Weather Wednesday entries.
Today it is a month and 4 days before spring and I am going to talk about my favourite springs in recent memory.

In 1991, spring came early, when a hi pressure area was stalled over SouthernOntario for a few days and the weather grew steadily milder. It was a warm spring over all, with a real spike in early April, which saw temperatures just hitting 30 degrees Celsius, then thunderstorms rolled in and the weather got cooler again. However, it wasn’t too bad after all, it was spring..

In 1998 after a mild winter it got warm in a hurry, around March 24th or so. It went as high as about 20 degrees and there were a few cool days after that but nothing winter-like. It just got progressively milder as the season went on and by the time summer was upon us it was hot.

In 2005 it was another warm spring and it also lead to another hot summer, which was also the summer of the gun in Toronto. However, the weather was great for the most part and even the fall wasn’t bad.

In 2010 we had an early spring starting in early March and it was warm, for the most part. The exception was a sharp cold front blowing in with unusually cold air in mid May. This caused snow to fall and frost warnings were issued for parts of Southern Ontario.

I’m sorry if these aren’t complete stories but I am only giving you what I can remember mostof all from those seasons.

If you have any comments you can reply here or email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you.
Also, for more weather stuff you can subscribe to my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter mailing list by emailing me at wxrnewsletter@gmail.com and I will send you all the issues so far. You will also receive the next issue when it comes out.
Another blog you may want to follow alongside this one is from Phil Chadwick. He is a retired meteorologist from Environment Canada and his specialty was severe weather. Here is the url.
philtheforecaster.blogspot.com
Check it out if you are a weather nut. He has stuff in there that I didn’t even know. Well, after all, he did work for Environment Canada for many years and he retired in 2011.
Well, that’s it for today’s blog post. Talk to you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

