Oh Brother, Fair Are Thou Lady

Hi and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week it will be the 24th anniversary of the Season 2 episode Oh Brother, Where Are Thou? It guest stars Danny DeVito as Herb Powell, Homer’s half brother and is the uncle to Bart, Lisa and Maggie. Like me, he doesn’t like formality in that he requests Bart to call him Unky Herb and I like that. I’m an Uncle too but I have never asked my nieces or nephews to call me Unky. Anyway, he really loves Bart and is kind to everyone in the family.

He allows Homer to help design a car for him, which is called The Homer and it consequently bankrupts Herb and he says “as far as I’m concerned, I have no brother.” Later on in Brother, Can You Spare Two Dimes? Herb eventually forgives Homer after becoming ritch again with his baby translator and he buys everyone in the family something they had mentioned earlier in the episode.

As I have said before, I love how kind Herb is in this episode and especially how he just finds Bart adorable. He lets Bart spit over an overpass or something and he watches Itchy And Scratchy with Bart and Lisa and enjoys it along with them. Now that is the coolest Uncle and Herb is still one of my favourite characters… after all, he is a part of the family.

On another note, about this past weeks episode My Fair Lady, what struck me at first was the video game version of the theme. It sounds like you are an expert player of a video game that you are just winning by a long shot. Then the Simpsons take on The Jetsons comes up and I think that is also cool. If you know the Jetsons theme, you know what I am talking about.

When Marge gets a job driving taxi, she has to put up with others in Springfield who are just a bit demanding at times. Well, I guess it goes with driving a cab.

Also, while Moe is at the theatre Homer decides, along with Lenny to have a night where Guys show up to drink so they can make money, with lady’s drinking for free. Unfortunately it doesn’t work and Moe looses his bar and takes a job at the nuclear plant as a janitor and he loses his friends in the process because he also gets promoted to supervisor of Sector 7G. Eventually, both Moe and Marge quit their jobs after she gives Moe a ride and Moe goes back to his bar.

That is the basics of the episode but I like it as one of the best of the season so far and I am looking forward to the episode The Kids Are All Fight, which shows us a 4-year-old Bart and a 2-year-old Lisa.

Well, that’s it for this week. As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

