A Year With No Winter

Hello and welcome to another Weather Wednesday. On the opposite spectrum of my entry a couple weeks ago about 1816, I’m curious to find what year didn’t have a winter?

I can’t think of a year where no snow fell and temperatures didn’t go below freezing but we have come close. The winter of 2011 and 2012 was certainly mild enough and in March of 2012 we had the heat wave. Remember? Look it up on Wikipedia.

I guess 1997/1998 and 2009/2010 could qualify but snow did fall and temperatures were below freezing most days. Although during the former winter it was milder than normal, except for the last few days of the season.

Not sure what else I can say at this point but I guess that’s it for this week.
If you have any comments you can reply here or email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will get back to you.
Also, for more weather stuff you can subscribe to my Weather Radio Listeners Newsletter mailing list by emailing me at wxrnewsletter@gmail.com and I will send you all the issues so far. You will also receive the next issue when it comes out.
Another blog you may want to follow alongside this one is from Phil Chadwick. He is a retired meteorologist from Environment Canada and his specialty was severe weather. Here is the url.
philtheforecaster.blogspot.com
Check it out if you are a weather nut. He has stuff in there that I didn’t even know. Well, after all, he did work for Environment Canada for many years and he retired in 2011.
Well, that’s it for today’s blog post. Talk to you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

