“Ah, Sideshow Bob”

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday and the first one for March 2015. Today, let’s talk about Sideshow Bob and his best moments throughout the series.

For me, I actually like his debut episode he appeared in, which was Season 1’s Krusty Gets Busted. I think that introducing him as the writers did was briliant. Could you ever suspect someone as intelligent as him to have an ugly signed? Well, I guess that some really smart people are really evil. I mean, think of all the people who have become such well known serial killers and mass murderers over the years and all the planning that took place before the crimes were committed. I can’t really imagine myself doing anything like that. Besides, I’m just a real softy. Anyway, as we all know Bart and Lisa uncover his plan and Krusty is set free and Bob is taken to jail. Of course he also vow’s revenge on Bart, especially.

Now, that is my favourite episode because it is the introductory episode which shows us the character for the first time. However, later episodes aren’t bad either because they develop the character further, to be charming without much of a hint of evil. For example: Season 3’s Black Widower shows us this aspect of Sideshow Bob and only Bart see’s through this mask of charm, to discover that he is going to kill Selma, taking advantage of her lack of a sense of smell.

To most people, Sideshow Bob’s best episode of all time is Cape Feare and I can’t really disagree with that. It is quite fun and Bob gets some of the physical comedy which is usually reserved for Homer. For example: Bob stepping on rakes and being stampeded by a hurd of elephants. The best part is when he sings the entire H.M.S. Pinafore, as a last request for Bart before he kills him. Of course, he doesn’t get the chance as he is arrested and Cheif Wiggum says “bake him away toys” and either Lou or Eddie ask “uh, what chief?” Cheif Wiggum says “uh, do what the kid says” in reference to Bart sayin “take him away boys” and Cheif Wiggum saying “hay, I’m the Chief here.” From the first time I watched that episode I never forgot those lines.

As for his later episodes, I like The Bob Next Door, as he poses as another cell mate of his named Walt Warren and buys the house next to the Simpsons. It would have been nice if Bob had actually moved in as himself but it probably wouldn’t have been as funny and the fact that Bart once again suspected it was him all along also made for good comedy. His latest appearance wa in the episode Blazed And Confused in which he makes a brief appearance talking to Mr. Lason, after he is throw’n in jail with him.

On the birthday front, I am very very sorry in not mentioning a milestone birthday in the Simpsons family, in the shape of Kelsey Grammer who turned 60 on February 21. He of course, voices Sideshow Bob and also portrayed Dr. Frasier Crane on both the shows Frasier and cheers. He is always working and if you look him up on bothS Simpsons Wiki and on Wikipedia, you will see what I mean.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

