Goodbye, Thank You And RIP Sam Simon

Hi there and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week I’m going to say goodby and thank you to Simpsons Cocreator Sam Simon, who passed away on Monday at the age of 59 of terminal colorectal cancer. I never had the chance to meet him but the news of his death hit me pretty hard.

I didn’t only like what he did for The Simpsons but I was also a fan of his work with George Carlin on The George Carlin Show in 1994. I only watched a few episodes but I liked the show, I guess primarily because it was George Carlin’s creation but also because Sam Simon had his fingerprints on it as well.

To give you an idea of how much input he hadn’t to the creation of the Simpsons characters, if he hadn’t called Harry Shearer we probably wouldn’t have had Mr. Burns as we hear him today. Also, if he hadn’t contacted Hank Azaria we probably wouldn’t have been able to hear Moe or Apu as we know them today. He has admitted to being combative but despite this quallity he has given us many years of laughs in and outside The Simpsons. Thank you Sam Simon for everything you have given everyone who has known you or of you. RIP. Let us all be nice to the next animal we meet, to Honor Sam.

On a lighter note, it was 28 years ago on Friday, that Nancy Cartwright audition and got the role of Bart Simpson, when the Simpsons Shorts were on the Tracy Ullman show.

On the birthday front, happy birthday to long time voice actor Frank Welker, who turned 69 on Thursday. He has done much work over the years, besides animal noises on The Simpsons. Remember the show Inspector Gadget? He voiced Dr. Claw with his ending line “I’ll get you Gadget…. next time… next time.”

Also, happy birthday to long time Simpsons animator David Silverman, who turns a year older… well…. today. He guested on an episode of Season 26 and I will leave that to you to find out which one it is.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

