The Smashing Pumpkins

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. In the last few weeks I have been rediscovering how much I like the classic period of The alternative rock band The Smashing Pumpkins. They of course are lead by primary songwriter, guitarist and front man Billy Corgan. He turned another year older on Tuesday and guest starred in the season seven episode Homerpallooza. This came while promoting their most successful album Melancholy And The Infinite Sadness, which happens to be a double album. Hmm, it also happens to be turning 20 on October 24th. Maybe I will do something for the blog or maybe someone else will write something about the album in their own blog, which I will put a link to here.

My favourite three albums are: Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness, Siamese Dream and the 1998 electronically flavered Adore, which came out on June 2nd, my 25th birthday. I like them all for their diversity and in particular, the range on Mellon Collie, from very hard metallic rock with distorted vocals to gentle acoustic songs, with either guitar or keyboards driving the songs.

As a fellow guitarist I admire Billy for his riffs and for how he approaches each song differently on each album. I also respect him for his ability to write all sorts of songs and to rearrange some of them for a live setting. For example: the song Disarm has been played both acoustically and electrically by the band livesince 1993, when it came out on Siamese Dream.

Another thing you can’t deny is Billy’s love for classic rock bands like: Cheap Trick, Queen, Black Sabbath, The Cars, Missing Persons and even newer bands like The Cure. The classic line up of: Billy Corgan on lead vocals, guitar, bass and piano, James Iha on second guitar, lead and backing vocals, D’arcy Wretzky on bass and lead and backing vocals and Jimmy Chamberlin on drums and lead and backing vocals is to me, the definitive Smashing Pumpkins. I will be generous and give a pass to the second line up including the three original members plus Melissa Auf der Maur on bass, who joined in 1999, to tour with the band on The Sacred And Profane tour supporting Machina – The Machines Of God released on February 29th 2000. She helped the band through the tour leading to their break up at the end of the year. Everything since their 2007 album Zeitgeist sounds like them but there is a difference because of the players involved and things are different now. Oh, I should also make mention with the brief edition of Melissa Auf der Maur The band became one quarter Canadian because she is from Montreal Quebec. She previously played with Courtney love in the band Hole and now has her own band simply called Auf der Maur, with their most well known song Follow The Waves in 2004. She also turned another year older on March 17th but didn’t appear on The Simpsons. However she has done some acting in some little known movies. Just look her up on Wikipedia and there is more to her than what I have mentioned here. I hope that her and Billy are still friends!

I sure do miss the original Pumpkins but things aren’t all smooth between former members of the band and Billy except for Jimmy, who went with him to his other band in 2003 and participated in the 2007 reunion but left into thousand nine, seemingly with no bad blood between the two. I hope that the original members can patch things up if and when they are nominated for induction into the rock ‘n roll Hall of Fame. It would be interesting to see who inducts them and if the original band reunites for the occasion and well, hopefully kisses and makes up long enough to play a few songs from the first few albums. I guess time will tell.

One thing that both Billy and myself share is our shaved heads. I started having my head shaved around the same time he shaved his own head. I had it done for me up until 1997 when I started doing it myself and I have had the balled head ever since. Oh, I have even had people touching my balled head and well, I’m not going to lie, I love it.

As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

