A Blind Character In The Simpsons

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. I hope you are all having a great Easter long weekend.

This week I am going to talk about blindness in The Simpsons.

I can speak to this because I am in fact blind since birth and can relate to the character, who’s name is Kevin. He made his most visible appearance in the episode Stealing First Base, when Mrs. Krabappel’s students and mrs. McConnell’s fourth grade students were merged together. Nelson took a liking to Kevin and protected him from other students who could potentially bully him.

After the no touching policy was lifted from the school, Nelson let Kevin touch his face. Thankfully, we don’t do that, contrary to some peoples beliefs that blind people actually rely on touching faces. Well, I did learn that our faces feel differently as we grow older depending on gender but that is not at the forefront in my mind, when meeting somebody of either gender. For me, I rely on hand to hand touch. I can usually tell what gender a person is by shaking or touching or, even holding someone’s hand. To be honest, I like the soft texture of a woman’s hand, compared to us guys and are rough skinned sandpaper hands. Although, some woman’s hands are rough but not the same kind of rough as guys hands are. Then again, there are some men who have smoother skined hands but that is usually people like myself, who don’t always fully develop. I’m not sure why but that’s my own observation.

The main thing I rely on though, when meeting someone for the first time and again, is the voice. I usually remember what someone sounds like and combined with what their hands feel like when I shake them, the memory is strongly imprinted in my mind. That’s partly why I like to hear what the actor or singer sounds like in their natural speaking voice and not just in their character or singing voice. I’ve stated a few times here that when I heard Dan Castellaneta in his own speaking voice for the first time I was amazed, compared to the characters that he voices on The Simpsons, especially Homer.

Anyway, I wonder if Keven will be further developed in future episodes. So far, he hasn’t appeared since Season 22 but you never know these days with characters such as him and even Comicbook Guy’s new wife Kumiko. I don’t close the door on any possibilities on how characters will develop in the future.

On the birthday front, one time Simpson’s guest star Alec Baldwin celebrated a birthday on Friday. He guest starred along with his wife at the time Kim Basinger in the episode When You Dish Upon A Star. This episode required the guest stars to be a married Hollywood couple and apparently, there were many couples that the writers were looking for. Alec and Kim just happen to be available at the time so, it worked and they had a great time voicing the episode with the rest of the main cast.

Alec Baldwin also hosts his own radio show called Here’s The Thing. He has had many prominent people on it with whom he’s been friends with and they include, Jerry Seinfeld, Rosie O’Donnell, Lena Dunham, Billy Joel, David letterman and many others. At one time it was aired on Newstalk 1010 here in Toronto and I made sure to hear it every week, when I could and also, when it was on. Also as a note of trivia, the theme song for the radio show is So What by Miles Davis. That song stands out in memory for me because I played that song for a few months during the 1991/92 school year in our lab ensemble. I played guitar and I guess I unconsciously try to make it sound like a trumpet section. I don’t know but I’ve been thinking about that song for the last few days, along with the radio show because of Alec Baldwin’s birthday. If you would like to hear it, I think it is available as a podcast on iTunes.

Well that’s about it for this week. As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

