Caracters We Love To Hate

Hi there and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. I would also like to acknowledge my friens on Facebook, some of whom are seeing my blog for the first time. I have been rather hesitant about posting the blog on Facebook up to now and have decided to do that, along with my continuation to post my entries on Twitter.

Anyway, this post is all about characters we love to hate. I have 3 of them I wish to go through and discuss their evil personalities.

My first character is Mr. Burns, who is of course homers boss at the nuclear power plant. He can be quite mean and is most certainly greedy. He tries to break op the union, headed by Homer, by turning off all the power in Springfield, expecting to hear unhappy citizens. Instead, he hears a musical protest led by Lisa and he is forced to give the workers back their dental plan and thus, loses to Homer.

Let us also not forget when he tried to block out the sun, after gold was discovered and after he ruined many Springfield citizens livelihoods and means of finance. Of course, he is shot by Maggie at the end of Who Shot Mr. Burns Pt 1 and we find this out at the end of the second part of this episode.

I have a question in that, is Mr. Burns really that bad? I mean, he really is a greedy miser and is quite mean to others in Springfield, except for Smithers. I still think that Harry Shearer does a great job voicing the character in all his appearances.

My second character is Sideshow Bob, voiced by Kelsey Grammer. We find out his dark side is present, when he frames Krusty The Clown for robbing the quik-E-Mart, in order to take control of the TV show, after years of abuse from Krusty. Bart discovers it was him, because of the size of his feat, compared to Krusty’s small feat. He steps on Bob’s boots and it hurts him and thus, Bart has show’n us that Sideshow Bob is in fact The culprit. He’s taken away to jail where he Vows revenge on Bart and of course, he tries to kill him at various times during the series but fails.

One more character I would like to mention is Hank Scorpio, voiced by Albert Brooks. He of course, is Homer’s nice guy boss in Cypress Creek. However he is also a super villain who’s only conquest is for world domination buddy finds time to help homer with motivating his team and funding sugar for his coffee.

It has been said that Scorpio was going to be the main villain in The Simpsons Movie but it was decided that another character would be created to fill this roll, in the form of Russ Cargill. Had Scorpio been in Cargill’s shoes as the main antagonist, would it have worked? Maybe but some things would have happened between him and Homer, in order for it to work well like it did with Russ Cargill. Maybe there would be a falling out between the two, or maybe Scorpio wouldn’t have ever known Homer or had forgotten all about him. Anyway, both characters have served their purpose in the series and the movie and I have no problem with how everything turned out.

Well, that’s about it for this Sundays post. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.v

Leave a Reply

