Severe Weather Season

Hi there and welcome to another post on this Weather Wednesday. Well, it is severe weather season and I’m sure we will be hearing about many tornados and severe thunderstorms popping up all across North America.

I actually like it when watches and warnings are issued unless I am outside. If I am inside and safe this is entertainment for me, when my Weather Radio alarm goes off with a watch or warning for either severe thunderstorms or tornados. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want anyone to get hurt or killed by severe weather. It’s just that when my Weather Radio’s alarm goes off it is just another way to entertain me, while I am safe inside my apartment. Unless something really bad happens, like a tornado or hurricane.

In weather spotting training sessions they tought us “when thunder roars… go indoors.” I have always lived by that rule despite other people staying outside when they hear thunder. If you really think about it, if you hear it you are in the strike zone and you could be easily hit by lightning or maybe killed.

I can’t imagine what would happen if it was quite a few degrees colder and it was snow falling and the thunderstorm was as severe as one in either July or August. I bet there are some people that would love to be there to talk about it. I would be as surprised as I was on January 8th 1989, when we had thunderstorms in Southern Ontario and a severe thunderstorm watch was even issued.

Well, I just hope that nobody gets hurt and everybody stays safe, throughout the next few warm and maybe at times, stormy few months. That’s about it for this week and this month. Talk to you in May.

Leave a Reply

