“ha Ha”

Hi and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. First of all, happy birthday to James L. Brooks who turned another year older yesterday. He helped create The Simpsons along with Matt Groening and Sam Simon back in the days of the Tracy Ullman shorts and is still a part of the crew today. Let us not forget about his other work. Most notably in my life, The Mary Tyler Moore show. My parents watched it back in the day and I mentioned this last year but, I always thought that cats plaintive meow at the end of the closing theme was actually a doll. You know, one of those dolls where you press on its chest it makes a crying sound. Anyway, I still think fondly about the show and the theme song and I’m also glad that it was a part of my life.

This week I want to talk about Nelson Muntz. You know, the bully who laughs “ha ha?”

At first he was one of the main bullies at school, terrorizing most of the child population of Springfield. At first Bart and Milhouse were among his main targets and Martin too. However as the series progressed he became more rounded and showed other sides to him.

He went out with Lisa and at one time, even went skating with her. He even became friends with both Bart and Milhouse, even though he still has his bullying tendencies being shown on occasion. In contrast to his personality he enjoys Andy Williams and Snow White. Yes, Nelson does have a soft side to him too, but he can probably throw a punch if you make fun of him then laugh “ha ha.” Also, he won’t hurt blind people, as he protected a blind boy named Kevin, and tought him to be a bully like him, even getting him to laugh at Bart.

In short, Nelson is one tough bully but he does have a good natured side and will protect those who need protection from others who could be a threat to them.

As far as his voice, Nancy Cartwright voices him and he started out with not much of a rasp to it. As the series went on it became what it is today, with a rough tone except when he laughs. I find that interesting to hear the evolution of a voice like that and how it continues to evolve.

Well, that is just a bout it for this week. Be sure to check out tonights episode entitled Bully, with guest stars Albert Brooks and Johnny Mathis. In the meantime, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

