Retirement Of David Letterman

Hi folks and welcome to another Weather Wednesday. This week I’m going to acknowledge the retirement of The long-running late night TV talk show host David letterman. Wait… What? Yes… I mean him and I will explain why.

Before he was even noticed as a standup comic he worked at various radio and TV stations. One of his jobs was a weatherman and from what I’ve read he has done some crazy things. For example: he congratulated a tropical storm for being upgraded, he predicted hail stones the size of canned hams and possibly many other humorous stuff. Of course, he later went on to host his own late night TV talk shows: The Late Show With David Letterman and Late Night With David Letterman.

It’s funny, before he died John Belushi did something equally as crazy on a Saturday Night Live Weekend Update segment talking about how March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb. He had all sorts of combinations of animals before he went nuts at the end of his segment.

Well, we can all just sit back and enjoy the summer post-Letterman and wait to see what Stephen Colbert will do, post-Colbert Report. I think it will be very interesting to watch what happens and I don’t think any crazy weathermen will be guests on the show. All though I’m sure that Al Rocher may have been a guest with Letterman a few times. I’m just curious why not Jim Cantore? Maybe because he has other things going on at The Weather Channel. Then again, Al Rocher did make a brief guest appearance on The Simpsons.

Speaking of The Simpsons, they also payed tribute to Dave on his final episode. I have talked here about their own weather related episodes and well, I’m not going to repeat it here.

Anyway, thanks Dave for all the many years of enjoyment and for all the crazy stupid segments, with both people and pets doing their “Stupid Human” and “Stupid Pet Tricks.” Sadly, I can’t come up with my own Top 10 List because their are so many highlights of his work and it wouldn’t be my place to do that, out of respect for Dave.

Well, that’s it for this Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

