The Simpsons In My Life

Hi allll and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday post. This week it is 2 years since The Simpsons have taken over my life and personality. Of course, they are welcomed in with open arms and always invited.

To review for those of you who have just recently met me, through Twitter, Facebook or other means, I have always liked The Simpsons but never really had a way to sink my teeth into the show, until Wikipedia came along and my iPhone came into my life. I soon discovered that most of my favourite bands had some connection with the show, either as a guest star or even working with members of the cast and crew outside the show. A prime example of the latter is the late Jonathan Winters worked with the voice of Bart Simpson Nancy Cartwright when she was younger. Also, Daws Butler actually trained her in voice acting. He voiced many many rolls himself in cartoons such as the Jetsons and the Flintstones. He also worked many years with Stan Freeburg on some of his comedy albums. Remember the dragnet parities? Stan Freeburg voiced Joe Friday and his partner was voiced by Dawes Butler. Remember the Christmas dragnet, the Dragon Net Dragnet and the Little Red Ridinghood Dragnet singles?

Another example of famous people who would work with the future cast of The Simpsons is Harry Shearer, who worked with Jack Benny when he was 7. He and many others said that contrary to his on air personality Jack was quite a gentle man. Another man who helped Harry at that time was Mel Blanc. Okay, if you have watched The Flintstones and all the bugs Bunny cartoons you know by now that he was the voice for many of the characters including: Barney rubble, Bugs Bunny himself, porky pig, Yosemite Sam, Tweety Bird and Sylvester the cat, among many other voices.

Last year I mentioned that I was looking for interviews with people from that era on Youtube and just happened to find an episode of Inside The Actors Studio with The Simpsons cast as the feature for that episode. I first heard Julie Kavner, Dan Castellaneta, Hank Azaria and even the name and voice of current Show Runner Al Jean. I’d heard Nancy Cartwright and Harry Shearer before on radio and TV being interviewed and even going into their Simpsons voices for a quick laugh. To this day, I still find it hard to fathom that the voice of homer Simpson, sounds completely different in his natural speaking voice. I’ve also heard Dan go right into Krusty The Clown too and well, I can do that voice too and have. Some Simpsons fans that I know would react to me doing the voice of Krusty by saying “hi Krusty.” Well, I look nothing like either Homer or krusty but at least I have the voice.

Another thing that helped me along was Youtube and I would feed off it for watching episodes for a while. Then iTunes came into my life, when I discovered that I could actually use iTunes gift cards to purchase things from the app store or the iTunes store. Of course, I jumped at the chance to purchase as many Simpsons episodes as I could to this day, among other bands and apps I use every day. for various needs.

Lest I forget Twitter and following my favourite famous people and the Simpsons voice actors were first on my list. I follow almost all of them and have communicated with 1 of them and I also follow Al Jean. He has been a great help for this blog, both directly and indirectly. The best example of the former is when I wasn’t sure who voiced Albert in the episode Walking Big And Tall, he told me it was Kevin Michael Richardson. I heard his voice elsewhere on The Simpsons and also on Family Guy, during the Simpson’s Family Guy crossover episode Simpson’s Guy. He actually voiced Jerome in the episode. His lines were”here’s your beer Peter” Peter says “thanks Jerome, how much do I owe you?” . Herone says “nah you already paid me, in laughs…. ha ha ha.”

Another thing I like to do is wish my famous friends on Twitter a happy birthday and when Al turned another year older I did that. He replied “thank you for remembering.” I don’t remember if I replied back but I’d have to take a look through my tweets. I have also wished James L. Brooks, Harry Shearer, Nancy Cartwright, Hank Azaria and Yeardley Smith happy birthdays too but haven’t received a direct reply from them. All though, Harry and Yeardley generally thanked all of us when we wished them happy 70th and 50th birthdays respectively.

One more thing about Al Jean that I should mention is that he told me that he loves my blog. That is really cool and I do believe that he really is a nice guy and not just because it is his job to be that way. He has been helpful to the fans and has been nothing but good to us. I am so glad that I am his 35th follower on Twitter.

As for my continued love for The Simpsons, it shall continue and since I turned another year older last Tuesday I have downloaded one other episode from Season 25: The Kid Is Alright. I also recently downloaded Season 20’s Eeny Teeny Maya Moe, which is the episode in which Moe meets a woman on line, who turns out to be 3 feat tall. I was inspired to download it because of a fan fiction story I read. That’s another thing I have discovered in the past few months. I have found some good Simpsons fan fiction stories and my favourites are: Bart Explodes, For The Love Of A Special Someone and A New Family. The latter 2 are tied together in that Wralph has a girl friend and Ruth and Laura Powers play a bigger part in the lives of: Bart, Lisa and Maggie Simpson. Even Allison Taylor, who was Lisa’s rival place a bigger part two in both stories, as well as Alex Whitney from the episode Lard Of The Dance. If you are interested, just use our friend Mr. or Mrs. Google and all the stories are there for all to read. I am working on my own but I need to do a lot of work on the plot and I have idea’s rolling around all the time. One of these days I will get around to it.

Well that is about it for this week. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

