Even Weatheradio Canada Has It’s Issues

Hi all and welcome to another Weather Wednesday. Sorry I didn’t have anything for last week, on account of my birthday on Tuesday June 2nd. I also couldn’t think of anything to write about, until now.

Since the last Weather Wednesday on May 27th Toronto Weatheradio Canada station XMJ225 had some reception issues. I only noticed it because I have not only a WX radio or a few, but also I have a Sony diskman. This actually has not only the conventional a.m. and FM radio but also has VHF TV channels and the 7 Weather Radio frequencies in chronological order. Basically what I mean is that the first three frequencies: channel 1 162.550, channel 2 162.400 and Channel 3 162.475 MHz are the first 3 frequencies in order of their being used for NOAA Weather Radio and later Weatheradio Canada. The main thing I listened for was the reception, which stinks on that type of receiver. When I heard nothing but static I knew something was wrong.

I listened for a couple of days before sending out emails and it took a few days but some maintenance was done on the transmitter from June 1 to June 4.

On June 4 is when it all came to ahead. Toronto XMJ225 had finally went off the air completely at around 7:30 A.M. and I found out what I had suspected for a while, that it was a problem with the antenna. Repairs were made and it is now back to full strength and I can hear it again, even on my crappy Discman. 🙂

Now, I just need to test it out by going out of town with any of my receivers and listening to how loud it is, compared to other WXR’s around me and as I go through another city or town. I’m looking forward to possibly doing that this summer and making my observations known, if I feel the need to do so.

Well, that is about it for this weeks post. Talk to you again.

Leave a Reply

