The Simpsons And My Favourite Radio Station

Hi all and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week it is all about 97.7 HTZFM and The Simpsons. Why? Because they are my favourite radio station and they have included some Simpsons clips in their station ident’s and introductions.

A year before The Simpsons came on the Tracey Ulman Sho as shorts, a town in Ontario called St Catharines and the Niagara Region was about to be rocked by a powerhouse radio station, with the call letters CHTZ. I remember when the station was in its early days and I started listening to it in 1988. It was on a January Saturday night and before they came along, I had Q107 to fill my need for rock in Toronto. Now, 97.7 comes along and it took some time but I eventually became sick of Q107 and switched over to 97.7 completely. All though, I would listen to both, to see who was playing the next new rock band. You can guess which station it was!

As for The Simpsons, HTZ has played clips from such episodes as: boy-Scoutz ‘n The Hood, Krusty Gets Canceled and clips from Homer about Beer. Oh, the late morning show host Iron Mike Bensson would play It Was A Very Good Beer from the episode Duffless and the CD Songs In The Key Of Springfield from time to time, in his box of tricks.

If you are a Simpsons fan and you like hard rock and heavy metal, along with classic rock, I suggest that you check out 97.7 HTZFM, either on your regular radio or on line, depending on where you live. I’ve been to the radio station as a winner of prises and also, as a friend of the station and of course, listener many times. I also suggest you check out their website, Twitter and Facebook pages too. Here is the link to their website. http://www.htzfm.com. The radio station is also turning 29 years old on the 26th and I can’t wait untill the 30th anniversary comes up. Maybe The Simpsons will come to Canada? Maybe they will make a stop at The White House Of Rock? I’m just saying that it could be a possibility!

By the way, I’m not kiding about it being a white building the station is housed in and it is also haunted. Some of the ghosts have actually appeared on the air and even did things to the phones off the air. I’ve heard the former back about 10 years ago in the morning but I can’t remember exactly what was said.

Anyway, on the birthday front, happy 73rd birthday to Paul McCartney on June 18th. He guest starred in the episode Lisa The Vegetarian with his wife at the time Linda. This episode also reveals that Apu is a vegan. I like Paul’s work in The Beatles but not all of his solo and Wings material. I personally like the material up to about 1975, then that is where things kind of tail off for me. Yes, I like his harder rock stuff, compared to his softer and at times bouncy songs. For example: Silly Love Songs was one of those that would probably turn me off. All though I don’t really mind it much now because it is an important song in both his and Wings evolution. If that song didn’t exist I don’t know if there would have ever been any of his duets with either Michael Jackson or Stevie wonder in the 80s. However, I don’t think I will be downloading any of those songs or streaming them any time soon. i just like to listen to them once in a while.

Well that’s about it for this Sunday. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Oh, I should also mention a great new band out of Hamilton Ontario who really rock, called Black Collar Union. You can follow them on Twitter @BCU_Music.

Leave a Reply

