The Simpsons In Space

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week I’m going to talk about going way out there into the milky way.

Sometimes you can tell who wrote an episode by what the content includes. In this case we will talk about outer space. Former Show Runner David Mirkin wrote the episode Deep Space Homer and co-wrote the Season 26 episode The Man Who Came To Be Dinner.

Something you may not know about him is that he, like myself are both ham radio operators. In my case, I am very much active in the hobby and in his case he let his license lapse in 1998. Unfortunately I never had the chance to work him because I was licensed in 2009 and in Canada, it is good for life. By the way, my call is VA3WXA and DAve’s call was WA3QIZ. Principal Skinner used that as his call sign, when he talked on his ham radio in the episode Homer’s paternity Coot.

I mention the ham radio aspect because most people who are astronauts may or may not also be hams. For example: one of Canada’s best known astronauts Chris Hatfield is in fact a licensed Pam. His call is VA3OOG and now he has branched out into music.

I mention all these things because talking to the people at the space station on ham radio is one way for kids to learn about the hobby. Maybe Dave Mirkin also did that back in the day… I don’t know and I’ve never asked him yet. However, he wrote the episode Deep Space Homer and that made me think about his past as a ham radio operator. In fact, before I got into the hobby, I actually listened to a channel where people would talk to people at the space station and it was cool but I was and am more interested in talking to people here on Terra firma, while they are in the midst of either going somewhere or doing something or just plain doing nothing.

I just think it is cool that The Simpsons would write an episode with Homer going into space. Also, that he has also talked on the ham radio bands in other episodes later on. Of course, tomorrow is the 45th anniversary of Apollo 11 and Neil Armstrong landing on the moon. Of course, his partner was Buzz Aldrin, who also guest starred in Deep Space Homer too. Oh, if you want to get even more in depth in to The Simpsons and ham radio, check the archives for a post I wrote either in April or May 2014 about it.

In the news, The Simpsons has been nominated again for a bunch of Emmy Awards. One of them is Dan Castellaneta and his role as a 10-year-old Homer in the episode Bart’s New Friend. That is my favourite episode of the last season and I certainly hope that The Simpsons win all the awards they are nominated for. I am so glad that Harry Shearer finally won one last year, for his roll as a young Mr. Burns.

Well that’s about it for this week. As usual to end each Simpsons Sunday post, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
I also recommend checking out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
I should also mention Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
For some strange reason everyone I know hasn’t heard of them yet. Hopefully I can change that.
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
It is new so, give it time to grow.You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. I would much prefer getting an email so I can reply directly to you, but that’s just me.
One final thing to mention is that you can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

