Our Favourite Mom, Marge Simpson

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. This week it is all about our favourite Mom, Marge Simpson. Of course, she is voiced by Julie Kavner who turned another year older on September 7th and she also voices her twin sisters Patty and Selma.

I can’t pick my favourite Marge episode because she has so many. However my favourite one from the recent years is Peeping Mom, where she monitors Bart after he takes a bulldozer for a joyride and refuses to admit to doing it to her. At the end of the episode he does and she says “why you little…” and tries to strangle him but she hugs him instead as he’s being arrested.

Of course if you can see, the most visible aspect is her hairdo and for those who cannot it is her raspy voice. People have said that the voice is Julie Kavner’s real voice but I think she changes it somewhat to give it the sound we hear. I’ve heard her being interviewed and her real voice isn’t as gravelly as that but you certainly can hear a bit of Marge in it.

I like that she is very patient towards Homer and is certainly well meaning towards her fellow Springfield citizens. Although she can force herself on people if she feels the need to. But generally she is a good person, all be it a fictional one.

On the birthday front, Julie Kavner turned another year older last Monday. She has certainly done well with The Simpsons, the Tracey Ulman Show, The Rhoda Show and has also worked with Woody Alan on some of his films. If you want to learn more just use our friend Wikipedia.

Well, that’s about it for this week. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
Don’t forget about Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. If you follow me on Twitter or are my friend on Facebook you can comment directly to me that way too.
You can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

1 thought on “Our Favourite Mom, Marge Simpson

Leave a comment