An Angry scotsman

Hi folks and welcome to another Simpsons Sunday. After watching ‘Cue Detective, who knew that Nelson was a fan of Clash Of Clans. I’d never heard of it until I had a problem with my previous iPhone in 2014 and had to replace it. It must have happened while I was on Twitter or something! I think I had a notification on the phone about it and then things just went downhill from there. Also, I would like to wish my fellow Canadians a happy Thanksgiving weekend.

This week it is all about Groundskeeper Willie. I like him because he is Scotish and I am also part Scot as well, with my last name being Maybee. I can even do the accent pretty good, without messing it up.

We all know and love him for his temper and his gruffly spoken retorts to principal Skinner and others. But especially Skinner, with whom he works with. It’s also nice to see him being a bit softer too and he is, in the episode My Fair Laddy. Lisa turns him into a gentleman as her science fair project and we see a much more civil side to the man, then we are used to, with the Scottish accent softened and refined to sound much more British, if you will.

Obviously his “Cheese eating serender monkeys” quote was used by some people around the second Iraq war in 2003… And this is his best-known quote. However, there are some other ones from the earlier seasons that are just as good. When he tries to get Santa’s Little Helper out of the Air ducts he commands Lunch Lady Doris to “grease me up woman. “Then later, he says “make room for Willie. I said make room for Willie you bloated Gasburg. “This, along with the original situation causes Gary Chalmers to fire principal Seymour skinner.

Another one that I can only paraphrase is spoken when Bart and Lisa are just going to be best friends, while Milhouse is in Capital City. I don’t exactly remember how it goes but he says something to the affectt of brothers and sisters being natural enemies “like scots and scots” and other ethnicities before that “and Scott’s.”

I’m glad we have a character like him on The Simpsons because he is so entertaining, whether you can see him or just hear him. Hopefully there will be other episodes that will have him in a prominent roll, like My Fair Laddy, which is the only one so far, to centre around him. Thankfully, he isn’t a big dumb swede or Hispanic because it wouldn’t be as funny as an angry Scotsman.

I’m looking forward to this weeks episode Pufless, which sees Patty and Selma quitting smoking. I tried it when I was 23 and there was no buzz from it for me. I just felt some sort of commonality with those who smoked at the time. I don’t think I will ever try it again, all though I still remember how to light a cigarette and puff on it.

Well that’s about it for this Simpsons Sunday post. In the mean time, I recommend checking out Chris Ladesma’s blog. He is the Music Editor for The Simpsons and has been since day 1.
http://simpsonsmusic500.wordpress.com/author/simpsonsmusic500/
Also, check out Yeardley Smith’s blog at http://gobbingoff.tumblr.com
Don’t forget about Marchez Vous, which is her women’s shoe designer company, which she started earlier in the decade. You can check out their website at
http://www.marchesvous.com
Additionally, for more news on The Simpsons, you can go to http://news.simpsonswiki.com/
You can also comment here or you can email me at blindgordie@gmail.com and I will reply as soon as I can to all messages I receive. If you follow me on Twitter or are my friend on Facebook you can comment directly to me that way too.
You can follow Simpsons Executive Producer Al Jean on Twitter and his Twitter handle is @AlJean.
He has ran the show since Season 13 and has ran it during Seasons 3 and 4.
Anyway, that is it for this weeks post. Talk to you again on Weather Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

